Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

I love Okonomiyaki

with 4 comments

ニコンD90 + トキナ 17-50mm f/2.8, 50mm f/2.8, ISO200, 1/60秒

ニコンD90 + タムロン17-50mm f/2.8, 50mm f/2.8, ISO200, 1/60秒

Okonomiyaki (お好み焼き) is a Japanese dish usually made of a flour batter, chopped cabbage, sliced green onions, and some sort of meat, and is fried pancake style. Many restaurants in Japan that serve this dish actually cook it on a griddle right on your table. I’ve had it before going to Japan, but it didn’t become one of my favorite foods until I had it in Osaka.

“Okonomi” basically means “your choice/preference” or “what you like”, while “yaki” means “fried.” This seems to be a fitting name, since the recipe possibilities are very open, and you can feel free to add “what you like” and, well, fry it. I personally MUST have bacon in my Okonomiyaki. That’s how I had it in Osaka, and that’s how I’ll have it forever.

My wife makes a spanking good Okonomiyaki. Last time she made it, she bought some thick, center cut bacon slices and generously loaded the dish with it (Pictured above).

Written by Jonathan

August 13, 2009 at 12:45 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] I thought I would write a little about Japanese food. I found another interesting blog with a good description of okonomiyaki, one of my favorite foods and also one of the most famous [...]

  2. I really like the photographs, especially those of Osaka (where I have lived for three years) and San Francisco (one of my favorite cities). I recently started a travel-related blog on Osaka and came across this post at the I was also writing about okonomiyaki–I also didn’t particularly like okonomiyaki until coming to Osaka.
    I hope you will take a look at my posts if you have time!

    osakainsider

    August 13, 2009 at 3:43 am

    • はじめまして!Thanks for the pingback and comment. I look forward to seeing your work =)

      Jonathan

      August 13, 2009 at 5:55 am

  3. Hey, when do I get to try one? Looks good!

    Lena

    Lena

    August 18, 2009 at 11:16 pm


Leave a Reply

