Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Ruins of the Sutro Baths

with 6 comments

Nikon D90 + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8

Nikon D90 + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/11, ISO500 1/60 Second, Handheld

Nikon D90 + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/11, ISO200 1/80 Second

Nikon D90 + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/11, ISO200 1/80 Second

My Dad used to tell me about how great the Sutro Baths were at Ocean Beach in San Francisco. Built in the late 1800′s, the Sutro Baths were a huge complex of pools, situated right on the waters of the Pacific Ocean underneath the famous Cliffhouse in San Francisco.  The Baths were closed in the 1960′s, and all that are left are these ruins.

Just a little more about the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. Before I bought it I debated back and forth as to whether I should instead buy the Tokina 12-24 f/4, thinking I might miss the 16-24mm range. I think it’s safe to say now that I don’t miss that range one bit in a ultra wide, and will happily make the extra lens changes.

Written by Jonathan

August 14, 2009 at 1:55 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are amazing shots! I love the reflection and silhouettes. Just amazing
    I’m looking into getting a D90 in the future, how did you like it?

    Tori

    September 17, 2009 at 4:18 am

    • Hey what’s up Tori! Loooooved the D90. Even though I sold it for the D300s, it’s still a fantastic camera!

      Jonathan

      September 17, 2009 at 4:57 am

  2. I’m working…well, more like interning with a sister as her assistant. She is a wedding and portrait photographer. That is going real well. I’m really learning a lot.

    Still trying to develop my “style” (as well as the technical aspect) and give my photoblog some real direction.

    Good to know in regards to the D90.

    Hopefully I’ll be able to make the leap into the world of DSLR’s soon!

    Tori

    September 17, 2009 at 8:53 am

    • That’s cool! Observe her closely and ask questions like crazy. I learned the basics by watching my dad back in the film days. You have a blog too? What’s the link?

      Jonathan

      September 17, 2009 at 3:12 pm

  3. Yes sir, I’ve been blogging on and off for over a year now.
    tips triicks and critique are always welcome and appreciated.

    Tori

    September 18, 2009 at 1:07 am

  4. Oh my name is click-able. It will take you to the blog. I tried posting the URL earlier and I think it just sent it to the spam folder.

    Tori

    September 18, 2009 at 1:09 am


Leave a Reply

