Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

City Dog

with 8 comments

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, Post in Lightroom 3 Beta and Photoshop CS4

For my 52 week photographic project about Suki, I want to include images that tell a story about her life. I’m hoping viewers will see her personality and get a sense of the environments she encounters from day-to-day. This premise spawned the idea for my latest image on Flickr in this series. I’ve lived in big cities all my life, and I wanted to show that the city is Suki’s domain as well.

The final image for the project was harder to capture than it likely looks, probably harder for my light stand (wife) than me, as she needed to instruct Suki on what to do, light her correctly, and keep the flash unit from going into standby all at the same time. Definitely not as easy as working with a human subject!

You don’t have to look far to find urban artwork in the city. This entire building was covered in it, and I would have loved to use other portions of the art as well, but we couldn’t spend too much time on the shoot. Suki might have lost her patience! Nevertheless, the art made an awesome background to convey Suki’s urban life. We got a lot of smiles from passerby, and a few of them found their way into my outtakes.

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/5.6 ISO200 1/125 Second

The shot above was initially a test image to see what my flashes were up to and get a good starting point for the shoot. I ended up liking it….in a goofy kind of way. The the shot at the top of this post is the first image I’ve heavily post-processed in a while. I was going for that cross-processed look, and I really like how it turned out.

The pose in the image I posted to the project was all Suki’s doing. I was really close to her with my Tokina 11-16, and she suddenly did a “down” on all fours (like the first image in this post). I fired away. Looking at the LCD, I grinned from ear to ear:

“We got it!”

Suki got an extra helping of treats.

Please see the final image on flickr: Click Here

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Suki is such a good doggie! I couldn’t believe that she tolerated us during this shoot. There were a few times that I lost the leash, too, and she didn’t run away. =)

    Bridget

    January 15, 2010 at 7:58 am

    • This is your shot as much as it is mine! Couldn’t have made this happen without you =)

      Jonathan

      January 15, 2010 at 1:14 pm

  2. She seems to know what you want:)) She is such a lovely model!
    BTW she looks bigger in the photo below than I thought.

    akane

    January 16, 2010 at 12:56 am

    • I try to make Suki look larger than she is by using wide angles and low points of view. I guess it worked!

      Jonathan

      January 18, 2010 at 10:36 am

  3. Great shot guys and good teamwork! The wall art adds an edge to suki’s story =)

    Melissa

    January 16, 2010 at 8:46 am

  4. Jonathan: That is a great shot of Suki. That top photo says, “Look at me, I’m an adorable guard dog!”

    Steve Nguyen

    January 17, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    • Haha very true, and she is very vigilant when it comes to guarding our house.

      Jonathan

      January 18, 2010 at 10:41 am


Leave a Reply

