Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Me, Suki, and the Forest

with 10 comments

One foggy morning in San Francisco this week on a much needed day off work, Suki and I headed out of the house. Hoping to get a nice shot of her for my 52 week photo project, we headed for a local park. Though located right in the city and surrounded by neighborhoods and shops, once you enter Mt. Davidson park, you forget you’re in a city at all.

Strolling through the forest made me feel like a character in an episode of Lost! Because of the dense fog and light rain that rolled over the city earlier in the day, the forest was very damp. Trails were muddy, and the trees dripped water down on us constantly. Suki and I both got pretty dirty as a result. It was also extremely humid, which made the climb to the top of the mountain particularly uncomfortable, especially since I had photo gear. The top image was taken using an off-camera SB-900 unit through a shoot-through umbrella, which I carried and set up in the mud all by myself (and no, Suki did not help me).

Suki was fascinated by the forest. She loved to run ahead and check out what was further down the trail. If I lagged behind, she’d turn around and wait for me, giving me this look that seems to say “hey, what gives? Hurry up will ya!”

Notice how dirty her face is from sticking her nose in the wet plant-life that surrounds the trail. Good thing I had clean rags in the car!

______________________________________________
Shot Data:
Camera: Nikon D300s
Top: Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 13mm f/4, 1/200 Sec ISO200 (CLS triggered SB-900)
Shot 2: Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/3.5 1/500 Sec ISO200
Shot 3: Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/6.3 1/80 Sec ISO200
Bottom: Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR at 300mm f/5.6 1/500 Sec ISO800

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the last one is breathtaking. what a beautiful dog!

    jen

    June 6, 2010 at 12:18 pm

  2. Nice nature shots. I like that you get down to her level and below.

    Melissa

    June 6, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    • Thank you! I’m glad you noticed the lower point of view, because it’s VERY difficult to pull off when the ground is muddy =)

      Jonathan

      June 8, 2010 at 7:39 am

  3. Hi Jonathan,

    I’m pretty new to your blog and I absolutely love your photos.

    Thanks for Sharing, keep up the good work !

    Cedric

    Cedric

    June 6, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  4. Lovely strolling! I didn’t expect you and Suki chan walked around in the woods;D
    Suki chan looks even more satisfied than her usual walk. Maybe she remembered something, her wild instinct was inspired in the nature walk…! :DD

    akane

    June 7, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    • Yes! I try to get Suki to natural areas as often as possible. You’re right, she certainly is happiest in that kind of environment. =)

      Jonathan

      June 8, 2010 at 7:46 am

  5. Hi! I found you off google when researching the 11-16mm tokina lens. I was trying to find a picture taken of it with a person in the photo and I found the image of your wife in front of the beach. She is very beautiful!

    My question is what is your opinion of the Tokina lens. Ken Rockwell gave it great reviews. I am a little skeptical of 3rd party lenses. I shoot with Nikon. I had a Sigma 2.8 mid range zoom and sold because it had a lot of noise always, it was slow and not very sharp. I was never happy with the images and always found myself correcting in photoshop to enhance colors…etc.

    I don’t photograph landscapes but I photograph weddings and I am getting ready to do an outdoor urban-engagement session and thought this lens might be fun to play around with during that session. They are ending the session with a candle lit dinner at a restaurant and thought it would be perfect. I don’t tend to use my flash but I have an SB600 available if needed. I love natural lighting so I need to have the 2.8 for sure otherwise I would settle with a cheaper lens. Anyways since you are a user and your photos are really great that I have seen I was hoping you would email me just an personal opinion on the lens. I love Ken Rockwell’s expertise but sometimes you wonder if there is a little bit of bias in them since he probably gets to try these lenses out for free and keep them if he writes the reviews and I know he gets kickbacks so I just want to know from just a user of the lens what there thoughts are. Thanks so very much in advance! And your dog is totally awesome!!

    stefani Marie

    June 30, 2010 at 7:23 am


Leave a Reply

