Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Days off Work Totally Rock

with 14 comments


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII

This month has been absolute mayhem, so we decided to take a day off work this week to recover. I LOVE days off….I get to go out and take photos all day. Extremely therapeutic. I snapped away with my DSLR of course, but also had a great time using my iPhone, with its many quirky filter options. You’ll see images from both in this post.

The day started with a hike together with Suki. We wanted to make sure she was plenty tired so she could relax at home while the wife and I spent the rest of the day together (hey, we need alone time sometimes!).  The low fog over the bay area made the hike pretty interesting.


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII

The fog really diffused the morning light and made saturated photos of plant life a breeze. I found myself drawn to this weird fungus that was growing all over the branches of the trees along the trail.


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII

The base of the hill was entirely covered in fog, and started thinking the hike wouldn’t be worth it…but then the sun started peaking out. Yes!


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII

As the sun started rising higher and burning the fog off, we paused for a quick shot of Suki. Didn’t turn out so well. During my 52 week project last year, we would have kept shooting until we got exactly what I wanted in a situation like this. What a pain in the butt that was! In this case, it didn’t work, and I didn’t care =)


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VR

The view from the top of the mountain was beautiful indeed.  Only problem was that by the time we got up there, the sun was blaring directly over the landscape and into my lens. Had a hard time fighting the flare, but oh well. See that fog in the valley there? You might think it’s moving away from our position, but it’s actually moving towards us!


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VR

Iphone | Hipstamatic

In a few minutes after taking the shot from the peak, we were again enveloped by fog. It was so thick that we couldn’t see anything, so back down the mountain we went.


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

After we dropped Suki off, we were starving! Headed to our favorite coffee shop for pancakes: It’s Tops on Market street in San Francisco. The place has been around forever, and I always love sitting by the window, watching those Market street light rail cars whiz by, all while stuffing myself with the best hotcakes in the city.

Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

Iphone | Instagram

Nikon D700 | Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G

Brought along two primes for the entire day after the hike: My favorite 24mm and my 50mm. Never found myself wishing I had anything else, though paired with a D700, it’s still a lot to carry.

After that we headed to the SF Moma, where I took almost no photos. Why? I was there to see the Henri Cartier Bresson exhibit. I was so in awe of his work that my camera just hung at my side the entire time. Every image was a masterpiece. The way he observes and then captures fragments of life  is unmatched by any artist I’ve ever seen. Truly inspirational.

Of course, throughout other areas of the museum, including the rooftop garden and the sound exhibit on the top floor, I felt inspired to grab some images of my other half:







Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

Here she is digging into an affogato made with Blue Bottle Coffee. MAN that was good. I want to keep coming back to the Moma just for the cafe:

iPhone | Hipstamatic

Someone recently asked me how I get my photos to look warm. Simple! Just shoot with your white balance set to “shade.” Example:


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

Here’s a photo (above) I took by adjusting my white balance to match the white walls of the sound exhibit.  Changing my white balance to shade gave me a much, much warmer effect:


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

In general, people tend to look better when photographed using warmer settings at the camera. Like any technique, however, it really depends.


Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

You probably noticed Bo Bear already. He tagged along with us as usual, and I caught him goofing around on one of the art displays. Hah!

iphone | Instagram

You know what’s funny, my favorite pictures from the day were actually taken with my iPhone. I only posted a couple of them here.  The rest are on instagram! Have an iPhone? Find me on instagram under the name: kaoni701

I really need to take days off more often!!!

Written by Jonathan

January 20, 2011 at 2:28 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like you’d a great day! Lovely shots!

    http://ayearinmyshoes.wordpress.com

    livvy30

    January 20, 2011 at 2:41 pm

  2. I love your iPhone photos.

    Philip Vergeylen

    January 20, 2011 at 3:12 pm

  3. Look like beautiful day :) Good shots.

    Andrey Tchernikov

    January 20, 2011 at 3:42 pm

  4. my love and i have a bear too! roobear! we’ve started a flickr account just for his adventures. i love these shots…your wife is just beautiful especially in that shot in the pancake place, which looks like my kind of place! so glad you had a great day…

  5. You’re gonna take off lots more days when we start our photography business! :D

    Terrific photos! My favorites are from the cafe. So nice to travel with a model wife. :) Or at least someone that’s used to being shot. The Bo doesn’t mind either, although I wish he maintained more eye contact, honestly.

    Great post, man! Loving that 24 prime!

    Josh Liba

    January 21, 2011 at 6:29 am

  6. We had nothing but fun that day, and your photos really reflect that. :) wish we could have more days off

    Bridget

    January 21, 2011 at 7:12 am

  7. beautiful shots as always. I especially love that first shot of Bridget with the 24mm f1.4. that thing is insane!

    Annie

    January 21, 2011 at 8:27 am

  8. What a beautiful day you had!

    Nadezhda Konovalova

    January 23, 2011 at 9:52 am

  9. Wow! I’ve just discovered your blog and I have to say that there are really great photos! Congrats! I will follow you. Bye.

    Antonio

    January 27, 2011 at 8:59 am

  10. Thanks for all the awesome comments everyone! Greatly appreciated =)

    Jonathan

    February 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  11. Days off are totally the best! :) This was San Bruno Mountain? Never seen it so beautiful!! Great shots. I’ve seen Blue Bottle Coffee all over the place but never tried it… Guess I will have to soon!

    Jasmine Lee

    February 6, 2011 at 12:09 am

    • Thanks Jasmine! Yep, we hiked up San Bruno mountain that day. If you love coffee, you MUST have Blue Bottle! Pick up a cup at the ferry building after you finish a shoot next time =)

      Jonathan

      February 6, 2011 at 8:32 am

  12. Fantastic set of photos! The lighting is just so gorgeous in so many of them. I love the one with a huge blanket of fog and the sun. I can’t help but notice that Bridget’s makeup looks amazing! Love the shade of her eye shadows :)

    Karleen

    February 9, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  13. Hi chanced upon your blog and your photos give off a warm and vibrant feeling. I like that kind of atmosphere your photos gives.

    As i’m still a beginner in using dslr cameras, may i know for those portraits photoshoots, was a reflector used? how to achieve those natural lighting?

    Thanks in advance!! >.<

    rrockxx

    February 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm


Leave a Reply

