Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Gordy’s Camera Strap: Love it

with 13 comments

Call me weird, but I pretty much never use camera straps. Whether on a photo walk or a paid gig, carrying a point and shoot or my dslr, what’s most often keeping the camera at my side is the death grip I keep on it. I don’t know what it is, but I feel like they just get in my way.

But my goodness do I love this new “Gordy Strap” I just got in the mail for my Fuji x100. It’s a highly-durable, simply-beautiful, hand-made leather strap. This wrist strap that I got is just one of the many different kinds of customizable products available at Gordy’s website. I just might need one for my dslr now. Hmmm.

www.gordyscamerastraps.com

_________________________________________________

Images: Nikon D700 | Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G

Written by Jonathan

November 26, 2011 at 10:48 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VSCO is pretty cool! These images definitely has a filmy quality to it. Which present did you use from it?

    Karleen

    November 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm

  2. I use one of these too. I’m a big fan. At first, they seem a little stiff and inflexible, but they soften up soon enough. I actually used a bit of baseball glove oil on mine to help it soften a bit!

    I always think my X100 feels very safe and secure with the Gordy strap in place and though they’re definitely a bit bigger than ‘normal’ straps, they do feel better.

    flopsy

    November 27, 2011 at 9:00 am

    • Yup, good leather has to be broken in, so I don’t mind the initial stiffness. You’re right, the Gordy is super tough and very confidence inspiring!

      Jonathan

      November 27, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  3. Oh man, I’ve drooled over Gordy straps before! And I’m totally with you — I HATE standard camera straps. I finally started using the one for my D700 though because my husband kept telling me that using a camera with no strap was like riding a bike with no helmet — and I’m always the first to scold friends for not wearing a helmet, hah). So, it worked. But they totally get in the way. -__-

    Kim

    November 27, 2011 at 10:40 am

    • So I’m not crazy! haha. Yeah, I never could get used to a full-on neck strap. I think this wrist strap is a nice middle ground though. Loving it so far =)

      Jonathan

      November 27, 2011 at 10:48 pm

  4. That is one good looking strap! I’ve always wanted to get something similar for the 5D; will have to check them out.

    John

    November 27, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    • For sure man, these are built to last! Highly recommended

      Jonathan

      November 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

  5. It looks perfect on the x100!

    Howie

    November 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    • Agree! I’ve been looking all over for a strap that would go with this camera. So glad I found this one =)

      Jonathan

      November 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

  6. what length is yours? regular / long / extra long ?

    Mikko Laitinen

    November 29, 2011 at 4:45 pm

  7. Mn, I love my Gordy as well. Like you, I never cared much for straps on my cameras, but picked up the Gordy for the X100 back in August. It’s always on my X100 now. Here’s a shot of mine.

    http://www.jacquesgude.com/2011/09/26/x100-does-hdr-and-how/

    Jacques

    December 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm


Leave a Reply

