Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A Girl in a Tree – Priscilla Ahn at Slim’s

with 12 comments


Fuji X100 | 1/60 sec, f/2, ISO 1600

Even though I’ve been listening to her music for a long time, I’ve never actually had a chance to hear Priscilla Ahn sing live. So I was pretty stoked when family treated us to tickets to see her at Slim’s in SF last night.


Fuji X100 | 1/60 sec, f/2, ISO 2500

We pretty easily got a spot right in front. Yessss.


Fuji X100 | 1/60 sec, f/2, ISO 2500


Fuji X100 | 1/40 sec, f/2, ISO 3200

Her performance was phenomenal. I always thought her voice was awesome just from listening to her albums, but hearing her live brought me into a whole new understanding of the incredibleness of her instrument. Her singing has got to be one of the most special, beautiful sounds I’ve heard in my entire life.

And she totally rocked out on that kazoo. =P


Fuji X100 | 1/40 sec, f/2, ISO 3200

My little Fuji did great here with its silent leaf shutter. This wasn’t exactly a rock concert, so I know the loud shutter slap of my DSLR would have been a distraction. High ISO performance continues to impress as well.


Fuji X100 | 1/60 sec, f/2, ISO 1600

Hope she comes to see us in San Francisco again! Check her out:

www.priscillaahn.com

Her blog is pretty cool too.

Written by Jonathan

December 2, 2011 at 10:18 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well covered, I like the results.

    Jim Dell

    December 3, 2011 at 7:39 am

  2. I am so jealous! I love her music…Great shots.

    solarsanction

    December 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

  3. She has a great voice indeed. Very impressed with the low-light performance of the x100. Great shots here.

    John

    December 3, 2011 at 11:16 pm

  4. Wow, she is really multi-talented. I’m listening to her songs for the first time. So pleasant and relaxing to listen to. :)

    Jasmine

    December 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm

  5. awesome shots. can’t get any better than first row. and her music is so relaxing…

    Jacqueline

    December 4, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  6. Beautiful shots! X100 performs so well in such low lights also

    Howie

    December 5, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  7. I so adore Priscilla’s music. I bought her Dream album a few years back – her voice is so soulful. So awesome that you got to hear her live and so up close too! Very envious :) Your x100 did a great a job in low-light. I wonder if the x10 can perform as well…

    Karleen

    December 7, 2011 at 7:38 am

  8. Really sharp and colourful – nice work.

    Hogger & Co.

    December 8, 2011 at 10:15 am

  9. Jonathan, very nice low light photos with the X100! Priscilla Ahn is a great talent. Looks like it was a tricky lighting situation (for me anyway). Were you shooting in manual or aperture priority?

    Also, do you shoot both RAW and JPEG on the X100? I’m always shooting both on mine. The colors on the JPEG files are SO GOOD, I can not replicate them on the RAW file in Lightroom. Of course, the RAW files are invaluable with all the adjustments you can do to them, but the Fuji colors really show on the JPEGs.

    Clifff

    December 8, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    • I’m usually in aperture priority, and that was the case during this concert with the X100. Also, these are all JPEGs. I agree that Fuji’s JPEGs look amazing, and for this reason I rarely shoot RAW with this particular camera.

      Thanks everyone for the comments!

      Jonathan

      December 8, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  10. lovely shots Jonathan! You handled those colors well specially the last pic :-)

    Ian Soliva

    December 21, 2011 at 2:00 am

  11. You get one of the best performance I’ve ever seen from the X100. Love your blog!.

    Sergio

    March 15, 2012 at 2:26 pm


Leave a Reply

