Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Another Tintype Portrait

with 13 comments

This is the second tintype portrait Bridget had done at Photobooth, and it’s a stunner. I love how it brought out her beautiful freckles. Look at how razor-sharp the eyes are with everything in the frame immediately behind them just melting out of focus.

This little production shot I took with my iPhone 4s shows photographer Michael Schindler getting all his light modifiers in place before firing off that beautiful 4×5 camera. Now you can see what was responsible for those crazy cool catch lights in Bridget’s eyes!

If you live in or around San Francisco, you’ve got to pay this studio a visit and get yourself immortalized on a steel plate, or at least get some help firing up that old Polaroid camera of yours ;)

Written by Jonathan

March 2, 2012 at 4:50 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. total stunner! really, really beautiful!

    enframephotography

    March 2, 2012 at 4:52 pm

  2. Seriously the first thing I do when I finally make it to San Francisco, is getting a tintype portrait taken! LOVE THEM. Cory and I were hoping to be able to afford to come down for a mini honeymoon, and have a wedding portrait done on tintype. Looks like that’s going to have to wait for now. Hopefully next year.

    Bridget look incredible!

    jade

    March 2, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    • Awww, well you can have an anniversary tintype done then I guess. You guys need a couples session done for sure!

      Jonathan

      March 5, 2012 at 7:09 am

  3. It looks like it would be worth a visit

    Jim Dell

    March 2, 2012 at 5:36 pm

  4. so gorgeous. i must try this. too stunning not to.

    Jacqueline

    March 3, 2012 at 11:27 pm

  5. That´s REALLY beautiful! Love the focus on her eyes.

    Pia Olsson

    March 4, 2012 at 11:26 pm

  6. beautiful!
    I’m really temped to get mine done.

    M.

    March 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

  7. This portrait truly took my breath away. Man I’d like to get up there to do this.

    Jasmine

    March 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  8. […] think Bridget had the coolest camera of all, however. Whenever I get my scanner fixed, I’ll have to post […]

  9. Wow. Just… WOW. I seriously can’t wait to get my tintype done in May!!! I hope I have time to squeeze that in. It might have to wait for my real SF vacation in September.

    Also, can I just say that I’ve been missing your blog posts so much! I was having RSS reader issues on my iPad… But that’s all sorted out now, and it’s good to have you guys and Suki back on my screen. :)

    Kim

    March 26, 2012 at 10:49 am

    • Kim! You’re gonna love Photobooth. Hopefully we can bump into you guys when you visit at some point. I still gotta try a bokeh pano!!!

      Thanks for the comments everyone! :)

      Jonathan

      March 26, 2012 at 11:50 am

  10. […] didn’t have her tintype taken this time around (she already has two), but posing her next to the pretty light emanating from the studio made for a pretty nice […]

  11. […] say goodbye to this truly unique studio than to have your tintype taken? Bridget had hers done a couple times before, but this is the first time I’ve been immortalized on a metal plate. We walked […]


Leave a Reply

