Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

This Ain’t Your Father’s Film Camera. Wait, Yes It Is.

with 19 comments


 Fuji X100 | 1/60th sec f/5.6 ISO200

On the heels of my last post, another film-related adventure! The camera above is an Ansco Cadet, a nifty little 127 format camera that was made in the late 1950s. I dug this camera out of my parents’ basement, and learned that they purchased it back in 1960 to bring on their honeymoon.  This camera has been in my family, then, for over 50 years.

I kept the Cadet in my home for a long, long time, and all the while it served no other purpose other than looking good on the shelf. The shutter was stuck and I just assumed it was broken, with no hope of ever firing another frame. But I very recently decided to inspect the camera further. I opened it up, played around with every moving part, put it back together, and doubting completely that anything different would happen after all these years, hit the shutter release.

“Ka-Click”

No way. There’s no way that just worked. Cranked the film advance and fired again.

“Ka-Click”

I can’t really put into words how exciting it was to hear that sound and see the camera’s shutter move so smoothly. It was time to find a roll of 127, and it turns out that only one place in the city that I know of carries that format (you rock, Glass Key!). Picked up a pack of both black and white and color, good for 12 frames per roll, and went through both of them in one little afternoon with the wife and the Suki:

Shooting with the Ansco is pretty interesting, to say the least. I had to tape up parts the body here and there to prevent light leaks. There are only 2 control points: the shutter release button, and a toggle switch between B&W and Color, which basically gives you two different apertures. Light meter? Of course not. Focus control? Sorry. Shutter control? Nope. It does fire though, which is all that really matters:

I had a hard time finding a place to develop this film, and it wasn’t cheap, so I may need to start developing the black and whites myself. On top of that, I had to take it to another place entirely to have scans and prints done. Goodness!

Here’s the color roll:

All in all, pretty happy with the results. Incidentally, I had the opportunity to share all of these prints with a small group of artists at Photobooth’s monthly portfolio night this week. It was a wonderful experience. Lately I’ve been used to sharing my photos on my blog or Flickr page or whatever other online service I’ve been using these days. But sitting down in person with others that have a passion and a respect for the art of creating photographs, laying real prints on a table, and sharing in thoughtful discussion with one another…that’s an entirely different experience altogether. I left that event more inspired than ever to continue my journey with the Cadet.

Oops. Where’s the Nano Coating? ;)

Written by Jonathan

April 20, 2012 at 9:16 am

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like these photos! They have a slight Roman-Holiday feel to them!

    JL

    April 20, 2012 at 9:37 am

  2. These photos are amazing!! I just can’t get over how beautiful film is…yay for the resurgence!

    Bridget

    April 20, 2012 at 9:40 am

  3. very nice photos!

    +1 for the comment on ‘nano coating’ at the end :)

    JPanda

    April 20, 2012 at 9:43 am

  4. Very cool!

    Desirae K

    April 20, 2012 at 10:49 am

  5. It’s such a lovely fact that the camera came from your parents’ honeymoon trip. I agree with sharing photos with people in person. I’ve been holding out on uploading much for a while because my pictures are just the same without much breakthroughs and don’t feel like I can add much to the community. If only I can break out of my shell and attend some in person groups…

    howie221

    April 20, 2012 at 11:19 am

  6. I remember this one too…..I can tell you this, it was never a jewel but it is history.

    Jim Dell

    April 20, 2012 at 12:04 pm

  7. I didn’t know the camera, but I just love the result! You’re lucky to have Photobooth in the neighborhood? :))

    akane1123

    April 20, 2012 at 3:55 pm

  8. how and where are you developing your 127 film? cheers.

    lyndephotoj

    April 21, 2012 at 8:44 am

    • I get the rolls of 127 processed at Light Waves Imaging in San Francisco =)

      Jonathan

      April 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

  9. You could try the SF Photo Center at 50 Scott Street (at Duboce). It’s in the Harvey Milk Bldg run by the SF Parks & Rec Dept. They have black and white facilities, approx 35 enlargers (both for 35mm & MF), and will wash/dry prints for you. No color though. Cost is $50/year for membership and an additional $5/day (6 hrs/day max) you use the facilities. Or you pay $200/year with no additional payment.

    Alan Fleming

    April 21, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    • Thanks for the tip, Dad. ;) We should have a go at it together!

      Jonathan

      April 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm

  10. Also check “Freestyle Photographic Supplies.”

    Alan Fleming

    April 21, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  11. I love these film posts man. Really well written and complemented by the great photos as always.

    Josh Liba (@JoshLiba)

    April 23, 2012 at 7:10 am

  12. ok, this camera might be lacking “things” but all those pictures are so artistic… I simply love them :)

    M.

    April 23, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  13. hmmmm! i didn’t know that photobooth did that. i’d love to go to that type of an event… although i would probably also be really nervous! it’s one thing getting criticism on the interwebs, but in person?

    but still! i’d love to try that out sometime.

    Jacqueline

    April 29, 2012 at 2:54 pm

  14. Dude, the shot of the coin-operated toy machines (whatever those are called… I was gonna say ‘gumball machine’ but there isn’t any candy in them!) is sooo goooood. The muted but still somehow vibrant colors it produced are beautiful. Definitely can’t wait to see this adventure continue!

    Kim

    April 29, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  15. Love the images, but even thou i like black and white, the color picts look much better to me. Great feeling on both, but like more the color ones. The last one, with the haze and blur has such a great feeling in it.

    ailukewitsch

    April 30, 2012 at 6:59 am

  16. i like the results. keep shooting it despite the price! ;)

    minimodi

    May 8, 2012 at 10:05 am

  17. […] another roll of 127 film that I ran through my 53-year-old Ansco Cadet. I’ve been trying to put together a small portfolio of images taken with the Ansco, but it […]


Leave a Reply

