Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Small Flash and The D800

with 7 comments


Nikon D800 + Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII | 200mm, 1/250 sec, f/4, ISO 100 | 9 image stitch

When Bridget and I work together on a shoot, we try to goof off as much as possible. Ok, I’m kidding, but there are times when I do point the camera in her direction during a gig, just for the fun of it. The above is a bokeh pano┬áthat started with a remote-triggered SB-900 providing some light on the wife’s lovely face. Manually setting the flash power to 1/64 got me the exposure I wanted, and keeping it at that power while shooting a total of 9 images made sure there wasn’t any exposure variance to deal with when stitching the photos together. The resulting file, after merging and cropping to taste, was over 100 megapixels!


Nikon D800 + Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII | 190mm, 1/250 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100 | single off camera SB-900 with dome diffuser camera left

As I become more and more acquainted with the D800, I keep discovering improvements over my D700 that I’m really loving. One big one for me is the way the camera’s TTL metering behaves with flash. Heavy backlighting used to confuse the TTL meter quite a bit with my D700, requiring that I either move to full manual or really work the camera and flash exposure comp dials to steer the system in the right direction. I relied on the D800′s TTL metering over the weekend for a series of photos using flash, including the one above, and the system very consistently gave me perfect exposures, even in tricky lighting situations that used to throw my previous systems. I haven’t had a chance to post on the topic yet, but high ISO files look great from this camera as well. So much for missing my D700 ;)

Written by Jonathan

May 9, 2012 at 9:17 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jonathan , I was looking at the photo of Bridget and it almost looks like she is super imposed into that background…thats a really cool shot. Is that a real bird on her arm?

    Michele Busch

    May 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  2. Oops, I think my eyes are failing me ,I looked again it is not a bird… is that a flash she is holding? Any who great shot !

    Michele Busch

    May 9, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    • Haha, I guess it is sort of hard to see since she appears so small in the frame. That’s a hotshoe flash unit =)

      Jonathan

      May 10, 2012 at 8:33 am

  3. Those bokeh panos look fantastic. In case you haven’t already seen it, your gal is famous – http://www.coolhunting.com/culture/photobooth.php. Somewhere around the 3:40ish mark.

    tone

    May 10, 2012 at 4:43 am

    • Thank you! I did see that, and I’m thrilled to see such a pretty face included in that video =)

      Jonathan

      May 10, 2012 at 8:34 am

  4. wow…
    also…
    I saw Bridget on a Photoboot’s video…
    at 3.45
    http://vimeo.com/41710130

    agasper79

    May 10, 2012 at 11:15 am

  5. The pictures is indeed very beautifully lit. So much to learn

    howie221

    May 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

