Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

The California Coast

with 11 comments

A few snaps from a trip up the California coast line. The morning always starts with an outing with the dog, this time at the beach. Really helps get Suki tired enough to relax in the car during the long drive.

The foggy coastal morning along with the shapes and textures on the beach seemed perfect for some black and white shooting. At this point, Lightroom 4 doesn’t support RAW files from the XPRO-1, so these images are all processed in-camera using either the red or green filtered black and white film simulation modes. Though I figured I’d probably switch over to color as the sun burned off the fog, I ended up staying in black and white for the rest of the trip:

Trips like this make me so glad I live by the coast =)

________________

All Images: Fuji XPRO-1 + 35mm f/1.4 XF R and 18mm f/2 XF R lenses

Written by Jonathan

May 15, 2012 at 11:33 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really enjoyed the sea coast shots.

    Jim Dell

    May 15, 2012 at 11:37 am

  2. Nice job Jonathan!

    Alan Fleming

    May 15, 2012 at 1:18 pm

  3. awesome images :D

    I love my X100 but I think I can see myself getting X Pro1 sometime down the line too ;)

    (Your blog convinced me to get the X100 in the first place :P)

    JPanda

    May 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm

  4. WHAT?! I took like the same shot of that bridge! Like last week! DUDE. Crazy.

    Jacqueline

    May 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  5. That coast is beautiful! Love the photo of Suki jumping up. The tree photos look like postcards they would look great blown up and hung on a wall! I also love that all the photos are in black and white I keep meaning to do that myself…this reminds me to try it!

    Michele Busch

    May 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  6. I Love your Picture’s! Wish I would have known you guys where in my neck of the woods.. :) Are those the Ghost Trees in Pebble? And the Lone Cypress looks awesome in Black and White! Oh and the Bixby Bridge is always a great Land mark to shoot.. We went down there last month. I Love visiting the Waterfall at Julia Pfeiffer Burns

    • We were literally just passing through on our way from down south, but yes, so many beautiful things to see on the “drive.” :)

      Jonathan

      May 16, 2012 at 10:59 am

  7. Can’t argue with benefits of living by the coast man. To be honest, the first several shots seemed flat until it gets to the bridge picture and things look great. I really like ones with the cypress trunks.. (I assume cypress trees)

    howie221

    May 15, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    • Yeah, these photos are chronologically listed for the most part, and we were at that beach in the morning pretty early. With the sun rising on the east and fog covering the entire scene, the lighting was pretty flat. Once we hit the Bixby, the sun had finally burned the fog off and it was all good in the hood ;)

      Jonathan

      May 16, 2012 at 10:58 am

  8. ah, familiar sites… love them in B&W, #4, 7 and 8 are fantastic!!!

    I see you stopped at the Highlands Inn… I can’t get enough of this place…

    great photographs :)

    M.

    May 16, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  9. Excellent photography. I have to say, seeing Suki’s little face makes my day.

    lyonandcompany

    May 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm


Leave a Reply

