Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Life With The OM-D

with 34 comments

I totally love the Olympus OM-D. The Pana-Leica 25mm, Olympus 12 and 45mm M. Zuiko primes, and the body itself all fit in my camera bag with plenty of room to spare, so I can take the entire kit wherever I go.

The OM-D checks a lot of the right boxes. Fast, responsive, quiet, well-built, small, light, good-looking. It’s weather-sealed, has a great tilt and swivel touch screen, an awesome EVF, plenty of physical control points, plenty of amazing lenses to choose from, and the new 5-axis stabilization works so well it’s scary.

Grainy-Filmy look brought to you by VSCO (Kodak Portra 800). Black and whites are out of camera. I’m really looking forward to logging more time with this system.

Olympus OM-D E-M5 | 12mm f/2 | 25mm f/1.4 | 45mm f/1.8

Written by Jonathan

July 22, 2012 at 11:47 am

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice photos and nice camera, congratulations! Are you going to make a comparison between the OM-D and the x-pro1 / x100?

    Best regards, Mattia!

    Mattia Boero

    July 22, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    • Thanks! I might do some comparisons later, but I haven’t had the OM-D for long enough yet. So far, I can say that the Fujis offer a little more when it comes to overall image quality, but the OM-D beats both of them in handling, responsiveness, and especially auto-focus.

      Jonathan

      July 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  2. Great Shots! I always love your photos. They always tell a story. Its a great quality. keep it up

    pianoman12

    July 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Thanks!

      Jonathan

      July 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      • No Problem! could ya swing pass my site and check out my photos? im a beginner at this photography thing. It would be nice if I could get some advice and feedback!

        pianoman12

        July 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  3. Love reading your insights. Photo quality seems similar to V1.
    Your review of the V1 was one of the decisive factors for me in deciding to buy the V1.
    Recently I’ve been lustfully eyeing the OM-D and can’t decide if it is the ONE for me.
    Will you be doing a comparison of the OM-D to the V1?
    Cheers

    • I still love the V1, which really feels like the speed king among mirrorless cameras. The only things holding it back compared to the OM-D are lens selection and lack of manual control points. Image quality is pretty close, however.

      Jonathan

      July 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  4. that’s a nifty little camera :)
    love the shots you took, a lot of them are my favorite spots!

    M.

    July 22, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  5. lovely shots and lights, OM-D seems more “soft” than Fujis … I’m not sure(?!?)
    SF is always special, I hope my new X10 too!
    Thanks for your inspiring photos!

    agasper79

    July 23, 2012 at 3:06 am

    • It’s hard to tell by looking at low res shots with VSCO applied, but I wouldn’t necessarily say that the files from the Fujis are sharper than the OM-D’s. All three cameras produce some beautiful files though, that’s for sure.

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 6:43 am

  6. Beautiful lighting in this set! I just recently started using VSCO more often and am loving all the different variations. I’m digging the fuji 800z+ one.

    Karleen

    July 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    • I wish the VSCO peeps would make an OM-D profile! But yeah, I really like the Portra settings a lot.

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  7. The Olympus OM system was a great one…try using the OM4Ti if you can find one. They still have the best spot meter system.

    Jim Dell

    July 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    • Will do! I have an OM-1 lying around. Still impressed with how compact it is for an SLR.

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  8. this shot above of your dog outside is very cool. can you share some more info on that shot (aperture and shutter speed). Thanks!

    http://jonathanfleming.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/p6050455.jpg?w=700

    Bijan Sabet

    July 23, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    • Yeah, I got a little lazy on this post and didn’t add the exif like I normally do. That shot was taken with the Zuiko 45mm at f/1.8, 1/100, ISO200 with the camera on its monochrome setting. I promise I’ll put more shot data on my next post about the OM-D ;)

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm

  9. Absolutely loving the look of that film man. How do you keep getting more cameras? lol. The amount of gear you have is insane haha. Good stuff though, love the mood in the first one with Bridget playing her guitar and Suki sleeping away.

    Kelven

    July 23, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    • Thanks man! I’ll tell you over a beer one of these days ;)

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 9:00 pm

  10. Great photos! I sincerely wish I could trade my Sony NEX-5 to this OM-D. haha… Damn.

    Sutejo Tan

    July 23, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    • The NEX is pretty awesome as well! If only Sony would release more lenses =)

      Jonathan

      July 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  11. Lovely photos, Jonathan. I have had an x100 for the last 9 months, and love the handling and image quality. The autofocus, however, drives me nuts, especially as I have a 4-year old who never stays still, and am getting more interested in street photography – I still haven’t mastered zone focusing.

    I’d love to hear a comparison – especially with regards to these issues.

    Mike

    July 24, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    • Well, nothing quite beats a DSLR for chasing a 4-year old around. The OM-D can acquire initial focus lock very quickly, but it can’t focus track continuously as well as a proper DSLR. That being said, I’ll see how it does at the dog park with Suki, my 4-year old :)

      Jonathan

      July 30, 2012 at 10:59 pm

  12. Beautiful images! I am almost certain there were pictures of Suki looking up like that, but i just can’t get enough of her looking into the camera like that.

    I am seriously considering trading in for a OM-D

    howie221

    July 26, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Till this day I can’t resist pointing the camera down when Suki looks up at me ;)

      Jonathan

      July 30, 2012 at 11:01 pm

  13. Your photos are amazing!! I just got the om-d a few days ago and recently started trying to take pictures…. and Im loving it. I’m saving up for the 25mm f1.4 at the moment.. cant wait to get it!!
    Anyway great shots!

    atsib

    July 30, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by! The 25mm f/1.4 is my most used micro four thirds lens at the moment. I absolutely love it.

      Jonathan

      July 30, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      • No worries, your blog is great.
        I’m currently using the 12-50mm f3.5 kit lens.. But yeh hopefully I’ll get the 25mm soon. It’s hard to find it here in Sydney… Might have to order online. If I had the money, I would get the two m.zuiko primes as well. But for now, the pana/Leica should be plenty!

        atsib

        July 31, 2012 at 6:31 am

  14. Sometimes I wonder how in the world can you get your hand on these new toys. As soon as a good camera with good reviews comes out, I always think “Ahh, I’ll wait Jonathan to try this out.” And your shots always makes me want to buy these babies! *drools*

    Abcd

    August 24, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  15. Hi Jonathan,

    How does your pictures look so grainy or soft like? I have the Kodak potra 800 VSCO presets but it doesnt come close to yours :S

    wh87

    August 26, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  16. OMD = Oh My Darling hehe… great stuff and love the colors.

    ahmadjaa

    September 9, 2012 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

