Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

The M4

with 9 comments

Spending a roll with a buddy’s Leica M4 last week solidified my love for rangefinder cameras. Unfortunately, I was nearly out of film when I headed out with the M4, but I was able to dig up one last roll of Lomography XPRO (no, not that XPRO) Chrome, the same stuff I used to shoot the Lomokino Movie Maker. Good enough.

This camera is refreshingly mechanical. No meter, no nothin’ electronic. Tons of fun:

I think I may be in the market for a film Leica M after shooting the M4. :)

___________________________

All Images: Leica M4 + Summarit-M 50mm f/2.5 | XPRO CHROME, E-6 Processing

Written by Jonathan

August 21, 2012 at 9:29 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are incredible. The quality is so crisp and detailed. Almost doesn’t even look like film! How did you get your hands on one?

    solarsanction

    August 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm

  2. I have to agree with the previous comment, crisp clear pictures very detailed I’d never have guessed you’d used film.

    davebarclay1954

    August 22, 2012 at 12:41 am

  3. Using a classic is always great. The M series Leica has and always will be a great camera. Their design was durability and working in close, a delight for the photojournalist. Nice shooting too!

    Jim Dell

    August 22, 2012 at 2:41 am

  4. film Leica is my dream camera :)

    M.

    August 22, 2012 at 10:30 am

  5. Oh man, I would love an M. You must be a pro at the range finder. I found it so challenging but your focus is bang on.

    Kelven

    August 22, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  6. Great focusing indeed! sure would love to try one of these

    Howie

    August 23, 2012 at 11:01 am

  7. Thanks for the comments everyone!

    Jonathan

    August 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm

  8. These are beautiful, even with the weird film. The Suki pics are my fave, of course!

    Bridget

    August 27, 2012 at 11:31 am


Leave a Reply

