Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A Mistake Worth Repeating

with 12 comments

Yet another roll of 127 film that I ran through my 53-year-old Ansco Cadet. I’ve been trying to put together a small portfolio of images taken with the Ansco, but it hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing. I lost the last roll of film I shot with it before I could get the roll developed, and it’s pretty easy to see from the scans above that my latest roll had some issues.

Seems I was unknowingly overlapping exposures this time around. Oops! But even though I was bummed when I first saw the negatives, out of curiosity I decided to scan them anyway while preserving the overlapping frames. I must admit, I kind of like the results. Might be a mistake worth knowingly repeating :)

The image above shows the three complete scans that were done at the lab, and I added some crops below to show more detail:

Totally digging the multiple Suki frames here.

All Images: Ansco Cadet | Bluefire Murano 160

Written by Jonathan

August 26, 2012 at 11:18 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude. I have to say. This can be another small portfolio. I’d experiment some more if I were you.

    howie221

    August 26, 2012 at 11:22 pm

  2. wow, that’s a great effect! Absolutely love it. It reminds me of Corinne Vionnet, she did a great series of photographs with overlapping: http://www.corinnevionnet.com/site/1-photo-opportunities.html

    thierrydevynck

    August 26, 2012 at 11:22 pm

  3. I love these multiple exposure shots! I spend forever creating this effect on photoshop! They look ace.

    sarahjayneschooling

    August 27, 2012 at 12:58 am

  4. Got a very lomo feel and even though it was a mistake this time I think you could get some very nice effects with this with a bit of practice. Very nice!

    astrawally

    August 27, 2012 at 2:14 am

  5. You have some interest on a number of these!

    Jim Dell

    August 27, 2012 at 2:54 am

  6. That’s the beauty of film – so many more chances to make mistakes!

    Mike

    August 27, 2012 at 3:49 am

  7. I love how the overlaps still “make sense” and tell a story about that whole day we spent together. With great colors and subjects, this is a giant art piece!

    Bridget

    August 27, 2012 at 10:08 am

  8. A little overlap can be good. :)

    Michele Busch

    August 27, 2012 at 2:14 pm

  9. What a happy accident ! Street life put together in a very Triptych-like manner. Bravo !

    Pascal Sauve

    August 29, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  10. haha! awesome mistake – i also love the interesting result!

    Karleen

    September 8, 2012 at 9:16 am

  11. I just picked one of these up at an antique shop for $10 and came across this post when I googled Ansco Cadet. Mine will likely be for display but I must say your photos make me want to see if mine is functioning!! Great job.

    Lindsay

    July 6, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    • Awesome! You should definitely try to get yours up and running. I love the results I get from my Ansco :)

      Jonathan

      July 6, 2014 at 5:32 pm


Leave a Reply

