Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A Roll Of Ektar

with 14 comments

This week’s roll is Ektar 100, a fantastic color negative film that I ran through the M3. The Ektar sports some really fine film grain as well as fantastic color reproduction. Pretty happy with the film overall.

I’ve been getting a few questions about how I process and scan each roll. Simple answer? I take all my film to Light Waves Imaging, a full service professional lab here in San Francisco where I get all my film processed, scanned, and printed. I can even get very uncommon formats processed, like the 127 I shoot with my old Ansco. Their chemistry is spot on, and I’m always thrilled with the results I get from their services. Here are most of the shots from my latest roll of Ektar:

Leica M3 + 50mm f/1.4 Summilux | Leicameter MC | Kodak Ektar 100

Written by Jonathan

October 4, 2012 at 11:16 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the pup. Great photos.

    sethsnap

    October 5, 2012 at 12:55 am

  2. you’re right, fantastic colors for this Ektar!
    Always Suki’s lovely!

    agasper79

    October 5, 2012 at 1:28 am

  3. Yes, so true, I absolutely love the colors! Cool images.

    Cathy

    October 5, 2012 at 3:22 am

  4. Fantastic! Thanks for reminding me of a word that I haven’t a spoken in about 20 years… Ektar…

    johnencinas

    October 5, 2012 at 6:00 am

  5. beautiful photos.

    do you find you need to do any post processing in LR once you get them back

    just got a m6. can’t wait to give it a spin.

    bijansabet

    October 5, 2012 at 10:36 am

    • Hi Bijan,

      Most of these have no post processing applied. Sometimes I’ll adjust the blacks to taste, but other than that, these are the scans as I originally got them from Light Waves. They’re a great lab!

      Jonathan

      October 10, 2012 at 12:25 pm

  6. These are beautiful! I love the warmth of the tones. Autumn light in this city is so gorgeous. For some reason, I really like the photo with the fan. There’s something so authentic-feeling when you see a picture of a vintage item taken with a vintage camera!

    Bridget

    October 5, 2012 at 11:03 am

  7. love your wife’s glasses! Seagull photos are cool. And are those Fall leaves in Cali?

    Michele Busch

    October 5, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  8. Your photos are always so crisp and captures the perfect moment! Would be great if you could take a look at my work as well! =)

    Jane

    October 6, 2012 at 8:49 pm

  9. Thanks everyone!

    Jonathan

    October 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  10. Beautiful colours!

    Mike

    October 11, 2012 at 2:45 am

  11. How gorgeous is film?! I’ll have to check out Light Waves; I finally finished a roll of film (only took a year…!) and am looking for a good developing lab.

    Jacqueline

    October 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm

  12. Beautiful photo’s. Your dog is lovely ! :)

    lil2399

    October 21, 2012 at 10:48 am


Leave a Reply

