Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

One Last Tintype Session At Photobooth

with 4 comments

DSC_6484

We headed to Photobooth San Francisco this week to get what will be our very last tintype portraits made in its studio. Photobooth will be closing at the end of March 2014.

If you’ve been following my blog for the last few years, you know I love this place. Vince Donovan, one of the owners, helped me revive my dad’s old Land Camera on my second visit to the shop. I blame him for getting me hooked on shooting pack film. I discovered quirky cameras like the Lomokino at Photobooth, and connected with some really cool local artists as well. So yeah, I’m pretty bummed that its doors are closing.

DSCF2900-2

But what better way to say goodbye to this truly unique studio than to have your tintype taken? Bridget had hers done a couple times before, but this is the first time I’ve been immortalized on a metal plate. We walked out with of total of eight tintypes, all brilliantly crafted by the super talented Michael Shindler.

DSC_6490

DSC_6487-Edit

DSC_6483-Edit

So long, Photobooth, and thank you!

Written by Jonathan

March 22, 2014 at 7:14 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what great work! sorry to hear it will be closing… :(

    cooking with audrey

    March 22, 2014 at 7:46 am

  2. Aww, weak that PB is closing up shop. No plans to move anywhere though? Cool tintypes – more rare than ever now.

    Josh Liba (@joshliba)

    March 22, 2014 at 2:47 pm

  3. Looks good and a very old style approach, nice going I really liked the 4×5 when I shot film.

    Jim Dell

    March 22, 2014 at 4:11 pm

  4. these are freaking amazing!!!
    what a shame they closed down…

    M.

    April 30, 2014 at 9:09 pm


Leave a Reply

