Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A night with the D300s

with 8 comments

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/18, ISO200, 6.0 Seconds

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/18, ISO200, 6.0 Seconds

Mounted the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 on my new D300s this evening and headed out for some test shots. Ended up in North Beach here in San Francisco for some great evening shooting under a beautiful sky, and the weather was perfect. I like the way the D300s handles much more than the D90 it replaced. Physical controls are abundant, and I found that I could change various settings very quickly without having to dig through menus as much as I had to with the D90, which is especially helpful when shooting in very low light. I do miss using the wireless remote trigger on the D90 though, which doesn’t work with the D300. I instead had to use a cable remote release (I really like having a mirror up mode!).

Unfortunately the latest version of Adobe Camera Raw is not yet available with support for the D300s. As a work around, I had to download the latest DNG converter release candidate from Adobe Labs, which does support D300s NEF files, and convert the camera’s raw images to DNG before importing to Lightroom 2. It’s a little more effort, but I’m sure the new Camera Raw won’t be too far off.

Written by Jonathan

September 12, 2009 at 7:05 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG! I’m sooo glad you are back on flickr Jon. Yeah, indeed a surprise. And whatta come back photo! (Amazing!)

    I hate it. How come I haven’t visited this blog of yours… I’m sooooo way behind! Anyways, there’s still enough time catching up. And yes, I’m here also. Wee!

    yllumiere

    September 12, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    • No worries Lizzy, I’m waaay behind too. Thank you for visiting my blog!

      Jonathan

      September 13, 2009 at 1:01 am

  2. This is awesome Johnathan! Symmetry is really good here with the trans-america tower in the middle. this is sellable.

    rashard

    September 12, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    • Thanks Rashard! This idea has been sitting in my head for a while, so I’m glad I was able finally shoot this scene.

      Jonathan

      September 13, 2009 at 1:02 am

      • congrats on #1 on explore! that is awesome!

        rashard

        September 13, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  3. your site is awesome! randomly came accross it doing a google image search for tokina 11-16mm. hope to see more photos soon. peace and happy shooting.

    jake

    September 12, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    • Thanks for the visit! If you’re in the market for the Tokina 11-16mm, I hands down recommend it without hesitation. It’s my absolute favorite piece in my kit.

      Jonathan

      September 13, 2009 at 1:04 am

  4. Hi Jonathan,

    I found your “A Summer without Flickr” photo and loved it. http://www.flickr.com/photos/33684889@N06/3911909346/

    I was wondering if you would mind me using it for my header photo on my blog.

    I credited you on the right-hand side blurb. Please let me know if you’re ok with this and if not, I’ll remove it. Thanks.

    Steve Nguyen

    Steve Nguyen

    December 30, 2009 at 1:25 am


Leave a Reply

