Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Clear Skies over the Golden Gate

with 2 comments

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16 f/2.8

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 at 16mm f/5.6, ISO 200 1/125 Sec

After a week of pretty heavy fog, particularly across the west of San Francisco, the skies cleared up this past weekend and the opportunity opened up for me to get a clear shot of the Golden Gate Bridge. I brought along with me my Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 and new Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC for the shoot. The weather was so perfect that I left my jacket at home (that’s rare, even in the summertime over here). The wife and I (and dog) sat at Crissy Field and watched the sun fall below the horizon over a light dinner that we packed (er…picked up at a local deli). After the sun set, I set up by the bridge and fired away.

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 29mm f/13, ISO200 25 Sec

I usually tote my small Surefire flashlight with me when we go night shooting, just in case. Of course, the one time I forget to bring it is the time we really needed it. Crissy Field goes completely dark at night!

Sadly, I haven’t really had a whole lot of time to dedicate to photography lately, which is a shame since the weather has been so nice. Here’s hoping the weather stays clear through the weekend!

Written by Jonathan

September 30, 2009 at 8:51 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. こんにちはジョナサン
    Your photo made me wanna open a book: I’m enjoying again “This is San Francisco” by M. Sasek, a picture book for children from my favorite series:) Golden Gate Bridge was and is great! I miss the old scenery drawn in the book, but still I enjoy the difference (and the sameness too:) of old SF and SF now in your photos. Thanks.
    Oh, I hope the famous cable cars in SF will last for ever! The book says SF is the only city that runs cable cars in the world.

    akane

    October 3, 2009 at 2:35 am

  2. あかね、コメントありがとう!

    I also really like old photos of SF. And yes, I’m sure they’re going to keep the cable cars running for as long as possible! It’s been years since I rode one, but they’re lots of fun =)

    Jonathan

    October 4, 2009 at 8:43 am


Leave a Reply

