Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Back to Pier 14

with 6 comments

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 @ 11mm f/11, ISO200 45.0 Seconds

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 @ 11mm f/11, ISO200 45.0 Seconds

I took this photo this morning, after deciding to roll out of bed at 4:30am to catch the magic hour before dawn here in San Francisco. This is the black and white version of the same photo I’ll be posting on my flickr page. I set up out here at about 6:15am and waited for the sky to start changing color, which happened very suddenly at about 6:35am. I really wanted to stay longer, but I was parked at a metered parking spot that started at 7am. I also had to be at work by 8am, so I was long gone before the sun moved passed the eastern horizon. I really love shooting at dawn. It’s so peaceful and serene in the city before rush hour.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This photo is so very pleasing to the eye.

    wildstorm

    October 9, 2009 at 1:30 am

    • Thank you very much =)

      Jonathan

      October 9, 2009 at 3:37 pm

  2. B/W version is cool, too!

    Well, I will try dawn shot maybe on the mountain top like I did last year;P

    akane

    October 9, 2009 at 2:03 am

    • あかね、コメントありがとうございます!

      I’ve been wanting to take some photos like this for a while now. It was great to get out there early! It’s definitely the season for beautiful skies in the morning. You should try it again for sure!

      Jonathan

      October 9, 2009 at 3:41 pm

  3. I love the mystery of this photo compared to the color. You don’t know if it’s day or night. But the vanishing point really makes you want to step into the frame and take the long walk down the pier.

    Bridget

    October 9, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    • That’s why I like it too! There’s more light in the sky than is conveyed here, which gives it a really dynamic tonal range I think.

      Jonathan

      October 9, 2009 at 7:17 pm


Leave a Reply

