Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Using Natural Light

with 8 comments

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G at f/2.0 ISO200 1/50 Second

Just a follow-up on yesterday’s post. My D300s’ battery was dead when I attempted to take some photos of Suki by the window the other day. But seeing as she spends so much time there, I soon had another chance with fully charged battery and my not-so-often-used 35mm f/1.8. Shooting with narrow depth of field can really create beautiful portraits, but let me tell you, working with literally less than an inch of it is not easy, especially with a moving subject like Suki. I was standing pretty close to her for the image above (the image was not cropped in post), and it looks like I just barely got critical focus on her left eye. Here are a couple more:

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G at f/2.0 ISO200 1/125 Second

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G at f/2.0 ISO200 1/60 Second

I really love the quality of light that comes through my living room window in the late afternoon. I also have some pretty handy “light modifiers” over the window (a translucent curtain followed by a dark brown curtain), which lets me shape the light and add or subtract softness from it. For these shots of Suki, I kept the translucent curtain closed all the way while opening up the dark curtain just enough to cast a a beautiful highlight on the front of her face that quickly drops off at her ears. Dialing in a little negative EV at the camera kept those dark areas dark (I shot in aperture priority). It wasn’t a problem getting her to look out the window, because it’s her favorite thing to do!

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G at f/1.8 ISO800 1/50 Second

The light was so pleasing that I had Bridget come over for a quick session too. By this time, however, there wasn’t much light left to work with. I had to pump up the ISO and bring in a white reflector to add some fill in this shot. The quality of light is still great though!

Written by Jonathan

November 28, 2009 at 6:11 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice shots and excellent technique.

    Jeff Lynch

    November 28, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    • Thank you for your visit and comment! I really like your blog by the way. Fantastic landscapes and great information.

      Jonathan

      November 29, 2009 at 11:54 am

  2. These shots are beautiful!
    Bridgette looks gorgeous!

    Tori

    November 28, 2009 at 10:05 pm

  3. This is amazing that Suki lets photos of her profile to be taken. My dogs would try to lick the camera 🙂
    Beautiful shots!

    Nadezhda Konovalova

    November 29, 2009 at 2:11 am

    • Haha, she normally would do that too, but what goes on outside the window is more interesting to her than my lens =)

      Jonathan

      November 29, 2009 at 11:55 am

  4. Bridget and Suki look wonderful. Nice shots!

    Melissa

    December 1, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    • Thank you very much Melissa! =)

      Jonathan

      December 2, 2009 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

