Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

The Dog Park Greeter

with 6 comments

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D at f/2.0 ISO200 1/500 Second

Suki is an extremely social and friendly dog, especially for a Shiba Inu. At the dog park, she has this tradition of being the first to personally greet every dog that enters the gate. Every time she sees someone new entering the outer gate, she runs over to the same exact spot and sits while the newcomer gets ready to come through the inner gate:

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D at f/1.8 ISO200 1/250 Second

This wasn’t always her custom. When she was younger she’d rush the new dog and start wrestling with him or her. Now she keeps sitting as the new dog moves toward her. As the newcomer comes closer, she assumes a more playful stance:

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D at f/1.8 ISO200 1/250 Second

Once they meet, Suki determines how social/anti-social the other dog is, and they usually end up running together and wrestling for a bit, that is, until the next dog begins to enter and Suki runs back to her “greeting spot.”

In other news, my latest Flickr photo appeared on Flickr’s Explore front page. Pretty cool!

click above to go to the image on flickr

This shot of the Bay Bridge was taken a couple months ago, but I wasn’t satisfied with the final result. I spent some time the other night re-interpreting the RAW file and finally came up with something I was happy with. I guess my Flickr contacts approved of it as well!

I’m not sure how the above images appear to you unfortunately. They appear washed out and stripped of contrast in Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. Sigh…

**update**

I finally figured out why these images were appearing different on my posts and am in the process of editing my affected blog posts one by one!

Written by Jonathan

December 20, 2009 at 5:24 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Suki is so hospitable and friendly and your photo captured a great action shot. I wish we had a dog park nearby but we find other ways to socialize our shiba with other dogs.

    Melissa

    December 20, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    • Thanks Melissa! Yeah, it’s really important that you keep your Shiba socialized. You don’t want it to turn into “Mean Shiba!” (that’s the nick-name we have for the other Shiba that visits the same dog park as we do. He snaps at everyone!)

      Jonathan

      December 27, 2009 at 11:05 am

  2. Congrats on your photo being on the Explored! (I think it’s not the first time, isn’t it?)
    BTW I use safari on Macbook. I used to use a Window + IE, but I prefer seeing images on Mac. They seem more eye-friendly to me:))

    I love your posts about Suki-chan:)) She looks so happy.
    The 3rd photo is my favorite! I know how she feels, how excited she is from the photo.

    akane

    December 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    • コメントありがとう!

      I love the third photo too! She looks like a cat doesn’t she? =P

      Jonathan

      December 27, 2009 at 11:06 am

  3. Suki chan is very friendly and lovely Dog 😀
    She seems to impatient like a cat 😉

    mikay

    December 28, 2009 at 5:30 am


Leave a Reply

