Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

f/2.8 + VC

with 4 comments

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC at 42mm f/2.8 ISO1400 1/15 Second, Handheld

I love keeping my camera with me at all times, but I can’t always lug my tripod around. That’s why the constant f/2.8 maximum aperture coupled with vibration control in my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC zoom lens makes a killer combination for shooting hand-held in low light.

I took the night shot above on the way home from work a couple nights ago. I stopped to park near this old highschool (that will soon be shut down incidentally), and was drawn by the warm amber light in the archway. I love how the light’s warm glow mixed with the dusky blue sky. Using a variable aperture zoom at this focal length, or even a constant aperture zoom without vibration control would have forced me to use a much higher ISO and would have made this shot very difficult if not impossible to capture without a tripod.

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC at 19mm f/2.8 ISO220 1/15 Second

This shot is not as sharp as it could be, but considering that I took it from the passenger seat of a car that is just starting to move away from a stop light, I can accept the results. Of course, shooting wide open doesn’t give me the most ideal, razor-sharp results I get from shooting in the Tamron’s f/5.6-f/11 range, but I love the flexibility that the wide aperture gives me in combination with the highly effective VC, a major reason I chose this lens over Nikon’s very expensive 17-55mm f/2.8.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your photographs are excellent, and I learn a great deal from observing them. That much more important is that your text indicates a profound love for your spouse, your dog Suki, and the environment, as well as your craft. You inspire me, Jonathan, and I am blessed to know you.

    Loonslistener

    January 2, 2010 at 9:40 am

    • Many thanks to you for such kind words of appreciation! I’m really honored. I hope you’re doing well with your new gear too!

      Jonathan

      January 4, 2010 at 12:41 pm

  2. Hi Jonathan,

    Nice pics!!

    Do you have any experience with the Tamron and macro photography? Have you used it in combination with extension tubes?

    Best regards,

    Miguel

    Miguel Kieling

    January 4, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    • Hello again Miguel!

      I use a macro lens for macro photography, so I’ve never tried using extension tubes on the Tamron. Interesting idea though!

      Jonathan

      January 4, 2010 at 12:44 pm


Leave a Reply

