Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Our Favorite Dog Park

with 15 comments

This is our favorite place to take Suki: the recently renovated dog park on 30th street and Church street here in San Francisco. Look how big it is! This image doesn’t even include a long stretch of run behind me. Suki approves of this park too:

There’s plenty of area for her to run at full speed!

There are also lots of tennis balls for her to play with.

And lots of smells for her to sniff!

Of course, her favorite thing to do is meet new dogs, and there are plenty of very friendly dogs to meet at this dog park!

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 22mm f/11 ISO200 1/200 Second

….Like this guy for instance. Look at that face! He’d drop this slobbery ball on the ground and then dash off to get ready for me to throw it before I even had a chance to pick the ball up. I had to kick the ball since I had my camera in hand.

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR at 70mm f/4.5 ISO220 1/500 Second

But if you threw the ball, he’d catch it in mid-air! Wow! This guy could play outfield in the MLB.

Nikon D300s + Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR at 125mm f/8 ISO500 1/400 Second

See how happy Suki is when she’s at the park?

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 17mm f/2.8 ISO1000 1/1250 Second

After releasing a bunch of energy at the park, Suki walks very obediently. We usually take a walk through the neighborhood and hit up a local cafe, where she’ll patiently wait for us as we socialize over coffee:

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 18mm f/4 ISO200 1/250 Second

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 31mm f/2.8 ISO200 1/125 Second

Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC at 38mm f/2.8 ISO200 1/200 Second

On a side note, I’ve noticed something sort of strange with how images are displayed on my blog posts here in WordPress. Each of the pictures in this post contains a link that takes you to the image source. The images on this post look like they were stripped of some color and contrast, but if I click on any of them, I see an image with more color and contrast, closer (but still not exact) to what I see in Lightroom 3 beta. Do you see this too? It’s driving me crazy!

Written by Jonathan

January 2, 2010 at 11:57 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh, I miss so much my walks and plays with my dogs! They are just like that guy with the ball! Thank you for reminding me how cool that is!

    Nadezhda Konovalova

    January 3, 2010 at 12:34 am

    • Aren’t dogs the best?! Me and Suki both enjoy meeting new ones at the park =)

      Jonathan

      January 4, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  2. Lovely post:))
    I doubt if there’s any dog park here in Tokushima, where I live. Maybe there isn’t a dog park like this with such a stretch in Japan.
    Suki-chan is really happy, so are other dogs in your place:))

    akane

    January 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    • Now that you mention it I don’t remember seeing any dog parks in Japan at all. They’re everywhere over here, but San Francisco is a very dog-friendly city. =)

      Jonathan

      January 4, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  3. Hi there,

    About your comment on pictures being displayed differently in your post than in a new window : well, I don’t see it. I’m accessing your blog with Firefox from my Mac (running Snow Leopard) but I can also try tomorrow from work on a PC running XP…

    Good luck with your investigations, I’m sure it’s driving you crazy :p

    Take care and happy new year !

    Nicolas

    Nicolas

    January 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    • Thanks Nicolas! I haven’t used firefox in a while on my Mac, so I’m going to fire it up at home tonight and see if that changes things. Are you using the latest version of firefox?

      Jonathan

      January 4, 2010 at 12:34 pm

      • Yes, I’m running FF 3.5.6, so the latest stable release I guess.

        Did the test at work this morning and pictures are still looking the same for me (both on FF and IE).

        Are your pictures inside your posts the same size as the original ? If not, WordPress is probably processing them : at least a resize and probably a slight change in the color profile (the following link may be relevant : http://en.support.wordpress.com/images/troubleshooting-images/)

        Nicolas

        January 4, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  4. Thank you so much! I finally figured it out and updated this post again. It appears I was doing everything correctly: I always output to sRGB, so that wasn’t the issue, and lately I’ve been outputting my images from Lightroom to my blog’s exact width.

    But despite this, I noticed in looking at the HTML code that WordPress STILL applies a resize to the image. I simply deleted that part of the code in each image and poof! Problem solved. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

    Jonathan

    January 5, 2010 at 12:18 am

    • Glad I could help a little 🙂

      Nicolas

      January 5, 2010 at 3:02 am

      • On second thought, that means that there really was a difference between both pictures and that I was not able to see this difference… I don’t know if I should be so happy then ! 😉

        Nicolas

        January 5, 2010 at 7:12 am

  5. I know right? Very strange, considering that we’re using the same hardware and software… well, at least I don’t see a color shift anymore, so that’s reason enough to be happy!

    Jonathan

    January 5, 2010 at 9:10 am

  6. Super doggie photos. Gotta love them. 🙂 Well done.

    karenstuebing

    January 6, 2010 at 9:21 am

  7. how sweet! I love this ‘photo journal’ of the dog park experience! lovely.

    jen

    January 8, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    • Thanks very much! Nice to meet another Shiba owner too =)

      Jonathan

      January 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm


Leave a Reply

