Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Super Suki

with 10 comments

Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 at 11mm f/4 ISO640 1/25 second

The sun is still setting too early this time of year, so any portraits involving the sun after I get off work require that I hustle to beat the rapidly falling light. I barely made it to the beach in time for a series of photos of Suki at the beach. I love the way the clouds sweep in the direction Suki is looking. It’s really hard to take a bad photo of this dog!

Needless to say, I got a lot of sand on me… sand that inevitably ended up on my camera, which is why I was really grateful that my camera has environmental sealing. Whew!

From the time we arrived on the scene to the time we ran out of light was no longer than about 10 minutes, which was only enough time to get my camera out of my bag, figure out my exposure, and fire off a handful of frames. This is one that I particularly liked for its amazing backdrop. The other was posted on my flickr photostream for the 7th week of my 52 week project involving Suki.

Check out the other shot here!

__

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful photo! I want to learn more about photography after I will try to find very good SLR camera…

    Sher

    February 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    • Thank you for the comment! I hope you find a camera that fits your needs!

      Jonathan

      February 17, 2010 at 4:12 pm

  2. Ohh, this is great, jonathan! Yes, Suki-chan is such a wonderful model, but your skill greatly contributes to the result of the photo! Hmmm awesome, indeed!!

    akane

    February 16, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    • Thank you so much Akane! Working with Suki has definitely helped me improve in my photography =)

      Jonathan

      February 17, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  3. Hi, did you use a tripod and fill in flash for this shot?

    david yanez

    February 17, 2010 at 6:30 am

    • Hello! Actually, I had someone holding a single speedlight for me, which I triggered wirelessly as my main light.

      Jonathan

      February 17, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  4. Hey Jonathan,
    I’m going to be upgrading to a Nikon d90 in the next couple days and I’m looking for a good camera shop down here in the city do you know of any that are reputable and reasonably priced?
    Feel free to e-mail me.
    Thanks

    Tori

    tori

    February 17, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  5. Wow. That’s an amazing shot! I can’t wait to get into fancy camera’ing. 😀

    Rainy

    February 18, 2010 at 8:42 am

    • Hey I like that verb “camera’ing.” I guess that would make me a camera’er. =)

      Thanks for visiting!

      Jonathan

      February 18, 2010 at 9:30 am


Leave a Reply

