Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Sunlight in the Evening

with 4 comments

I took this photo Bridget by the window in our study a couple weeks ago. The interesting thing about this image is that the source of light is not the sun. This shot was taken late at night, long after the sun had set. I was experimenting with using strobes to re-create the look of sunlight softened by a window.

I placed one of my Bowens monolights on a light stand out in the backyard, roughly ten feet from the window, positioning it towards my subject at an angle that the sun might be at in the late afternoon. Its lowest power setting from this position gave me f/8 at ISO200. These lights are powerful!

The window diffused the incoming light, which wrapped around Bridget nicely and created a daytime sort of look in the middle of the night. I don’t have a way to fire my SB units via a radio signal yet, but when I eventually add that capability, I might try using this technique much more often in a variety of locations.

Camera Specs: Nikon D300s + Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC at 50mm f/8 ISO200 1/200 Second

Written by Jonathan

February 23, 2010 at 9:43 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re lighting is beautiful! I great job in setting that up wtih your flash.

    AP

    February 23, 2010 at 10:20 am

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing your shoot with the toddler! Are you going to post it!

    AP

    February 23, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    • Sure I’ll make sure to post a few of them. Hope it turns out ok! 🙂

      Jonathan

      February 23, 2010 at 2:32 pm


Leave a Reply

