Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Suki’s Scarf: The outtakes

with 5 comments


The 52 week flickr project I’m doing about Suki only allows for one photo a week of course. This means that every week I usually have several outtake images that weren’t selected for the project. Today’s post features some outtakes from week 8 of 52.

We have this little pink scarf that fits perfectly on Suki. I’ve taken pictures with her wearing it before, but I just had to include a shot of her with it on for the project. These images were taken after she played around all afternoon at a local dog park this past Sunday. We started walking around the neighborhood after visiting the park, and at one point we just stopped on the sidewalk and started shooting.

Lighting is pretty simple here. One off camera SB-900 triggered by the on camera pop-up, gelled orange and shooting through a lastolite tri-grip diffuser. It was so dark out that manual exposure was necessary.

Nikon D300s + Tokina 50-135 f/2.8 (varying focal lengths) ISO640 1/30 Second

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. im sure you had more than this. these are all great images. You are doing an excellent job on this project.

    rashard

    March 3, 2010 at 8:18 am

  2. While I am enjoying your photo blog for both the technical photography info and the nice photos… every time I put my cursor over a photo, intentionally or not, a “Snap Shots” window pops up and blocks part of the photo. This makes browsing your blog kind of frustrating.

    brian

    March 3, 2010 at 9:34 am

    • Thanks for letting me know about this. I wasn’t able to see that this was happening because it doesn’t appear when I browse my own site while logged into WordPress. I logged out in order to duplicate what you were seeing and you’re right! Very annoying! I’ve disabled this “feature.”

      Jonathan

      March 3, 2010 at 9:49 am

  3. how precious! she looks so dignified with the scarf. I am enjoying looking forward to each week’s picture.

    Melissa

    March 3, 2010 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

