Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Nikkor AF 10.5mm 2.8G Fisheye

with 14 comments


The newest addition to my kit is Nikon’s ultra-wide 10.5mm fisheye lens. With a 15mm full frame equivalent focal length on a Nikon DX body and a full 180 degree angle of view, this lens really takes it all in. I’ve had it for a little under a week, and I must say, this is the most fun I’ve had in a long time with a lens. If you’ve been on the fence about picking up a fisheye, just go ahead and get one already!

The top image was taken this past Friday at San Francisco’s AT&T park. The Giants played the Cardinals (and won!). When I found out that our seats were going to be way up in the highest part of the stadium, I was actually pretty happy. From such a high vantage point, you can take a great ultra-wide shot of the entire stadium with the 10.5 fisheye. Here are a few more images I took during this past week with the 10.5. Enjoy!

Camera Specs: Nikon D300s + Nikkor AF DX Fisheye Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED

Written by Jonathan

April 25, 2010 at 9:18 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is so trippy bro! Great use of it. On the last one, does anyone turn around on a quiet BART train when they hear the ‘cha-chunk’ of a D300s shutter?

    Now I want one!

    “Go out and get one”
    Ha! No tax refund for me, man!

    Josh

    April 26, 2010 at 7:11 am

    • Haha…actually this one was a gift from the parents ^_^

      In the train shot, I made use of the Quiet drive mode on the D300s. Very effective!

      Jonathan

      April 26, 2010 at 7:36 am

  2. these shots are way too cool, especially the one with the escalator. Jon, as I recall Nikon doesn’t make a fisheye for FX or do they? I always think of lens in terms of FX in case I upgrade my camera one of these days (years)…
    looking forward to more of your fun shots with the new toy!!

    Jay

    April 28, 2010 at 11:26 am

    • yes, totally agree with u, that picture with escalator looks the best…

      Radim

      February 6, 2011 at 2:49 am

  3. forgot to mention; luv the perfectly timed reflection of the subway off the mirror!!!

    Jay

    April 28, 2010 at 11:28 am

    • Hey thanks Jay!

      Nikon does indeed make a fisheye for FX, the Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D. And glad you noticed that detail (very you to notice haha). I’ll probably throw that one on flickr one of these days. =)

      Jonathan

      April 28, 2010 at 11:54 am

  4. Jon,
    Put it on flickr!!! I guarantee you that it will make FP!!

    Jay

    April 30, 2010 at 11:36 am

  5. Hi Jonathan!
    Thanks for the fisheye pics. Very nice! How long have you had the Nikon 300s? Do you travel with it much? Is the weight a problem? What other lenses do you carry when you travel?
    I had an Lx3. Traded it due to lack of zoom for a Fz35. Miss the Lx3’s low light performance. Still pondering SLR. Money and weight are issues.

    Chris Sorlie

    May 1, 2010 at 11:53 am

    • Thanks for visiting!

      To answer your questions, I’ve been shooting with the D300s for about seven months now, and I definitely take it with me every time I travel.

      I usually carry three zooms and one prime on my trips, the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC, Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8, and Nikkor 35mm f1.8G, though my new fisheye is so compact, I’ll probably include that in my packing list on my next trip as well! Is the weight a problem? Not for me. When touring, I’ll usually have the camera in my hand the entire day, with one or two lenses stowed in my shoulder bag.

      If weight is a big issue for you, however, you probably wouldn’t want the D300s. If you’re used to shooting with a compact camera like the LX3, a D300s is going to feel like lugging an anvil around. You might consider a camera like the Nikon D5000 if you’re looking to pack light.

      Jonathan

      May 1, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      • Thanks Jonathan!
        Obviously, you think Tokina lenses are good. I will have to look into them more. I thought the D5000 didn’t have a motor in it’s body. That means I would have to manually focus am I correct?

        Chris

        Chris Sorlie

        May 1, 2010 at 7:56 pm

  6. Chris,

    You’d only have to manual focus on a D5000 if you mounted a lens on it that doesn’t itself have a built-in focus motor. This is not as limiting as you may think. Nikon, Tamron, and Sigma all manufacture a broad line of lenses with built-in motors that allow auto-focus with non-motor bodies like the D5000.

    Jonathan

    May 2, 2010 at 3:10 pm

  7. Thanks for you help! Will check it out!

    Chris Sorlie

    May 2, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  8. Hi there!
    Great picks!

    Does your 10.5 autofocus?

    Thanks!

    Diogo

    May 1, 2012 at 12:45 am


Leave a Reply

