Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

The Last Minute Group Shot

with 4 comments

This morning I attended a graduation ceremony for a group of students who successfully completed a rigorous training course in American Sign Language. It was an exciting event that drew a few hundred people, mostly friends and family of the students. Bridget and I were involved heavily in helping run the course, and I even brought my camera to every session to document the entire semester. This morning, I arrived about an hour early to help set up the A/V equipment needed to run the graduation, but soon after I arrived, I was asked to take a class photo. A group of 35, a relatively dimly lit hall crowded with people, and uh oh…I didn’t have my camera. On top of that, the shot needed to be done BEFORE the graduation started. ¬†The wife ran home and grabbed whatever she could for me while I set up the A/V. By the time she got back with some camera gear, however, we only had about fifteen minutes or so to get the shot. A photographic nightmare! I was sweating bullets as I frantically set up a light stand camera right with an SB-900 through an umbrella, feathered high and left. Second light is hand held by my wife standing on a chair camera left, feathered high and right. Now I had about 8 minutes until the start of the graduation program. Gulp.

See how many people were there? This is the reason why I had to use my ultra wide lens for this group shot. There were a TON of people already on site, including a crowd of people with point and shoot cameras behind me. This meant I couldn’t back up very far. So I mounted my Tokina 11-16, ¬†rushed like crazy to try to get all the students in some sort of order, fired off four or five frames, and that was it, time to start the ceremony. Whew….trust me, it was harder that in sounds!

View the “last minute” group shot larger here.

_____________________________________

Camera Specs: Nikon D300s + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8

Written by Jonathan

July 10, 2010 at 6:51 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice work jon! great privilege to capture that moment!

    rashard

    July 10, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  2. Wow Seems like you guys did a lot of Work, but Great Picture’s.. And Congrats to Everyone… =)

    Rosa

    July 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  3. how excited moments josh! … and for bridget too hehe

    congratsss!

    araceli

    July 11, 2010 at 12:28 pm

  4. Great job! Fun to spot my old friend d in her class – thrilled for all of you! Loved seeing singing from the platform perspective. *grin*

    Johanna

    September 23, 2010 at 10:25 am


Leave a Reply

