Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

An Unexpected Shiba Meet-Up

with 4 comments

This past weekend after our week 30 photo shoot, we relaxed at a nearby park with Suki, the camera, and my favorite coffee ever.  I mentioned this in my previous post, but the above image is a good example of how you can make your subject appear larger than they are in real life.  I shot this photo from a position much lower than Suki’s, and with my lens racked out to it’s longest 300mm focal length, which increases her prominence in the frame.

That morning we actually ran into two other Shibas! One was a red one like Suki. The other, named Akahi, was black with some sesame mixed in:

They were perfect for each other! At one point I couldn’t help but whip out my phone and get a clip of them playing:

This is HD video from the iphone 4 (change the resolution to 720p above for best results). If you look closely you can see that Suki is actually on leash when she takes off after Akahi. Towards the end of the clip you can see that my wife loses her grip on the leash and Suki just bounds away, dragging the leash along the grass. So funny =)

Written by Jonathan

August 4, 2010 at 8:44 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great shots! Beautiful dogs.

    photographyfree4all

    August 4, 2010 at 8:58 am

  2. That darned Suki! She is so much trouble, I don’t know how many times she’s gotten away from me. But she’s still the cutest thing ever and the bestestestest doggie in the WORLD!!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Bridget

    August 4, 2010 at 9:06 am

  3. Beautiful doggin! I have a pal in Indy who has a Shiba; I’m hoping to meet her in a few weeks. They just look so darn soft and FLUFFY!!

    Brooke

    August 4, 2010 at 11:31 am

  4. Suki is very cute! Whenever I see her on your blog, I always remember Hachiko =(

    Wowie

    August 5, 2010 at 4:30 am


Leave a Reply

