Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

NYC at Night

with 9 comments

Just another post with images from my short trip to New York last month. We stopped by 30 Rock and paid too much to head to the top and photograph the view. Sure was breathtaking from up there!

We got there at around 6:15pm which was only minutes before sunset. All I had to work with was city light and a dusky sky. No tripods allowed meant really high ISO shooting up there.

From the bottom of the rock looking up, and boy is it a long way up!


After that we passed through Times Square on our way back to our hotel in Brooklyn Heights. Favorite lenses for that area were my 50mm 1.4 and 16mm fisheye. More wide aperture, high ISO action!

Bridget, always holding shopping bags. I’m sure there’s some camera equipment in that purse though. =)

The next morning it was coffee, camera, and walking the Brooklyn Bridge. I miss NY already! No exif data on these shots right now since I’m posting from work. =)

_____

Camera Specs: Nikon D700 / Nikkor AFS 50mm f/1.4G / Nikkor AFS 16-35mm f/4 VRII / Nikkor 16mm f/2.8

Written by Jonathan

November 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice night time shots… and the aerial skylines are unbelievable! what’s considered high ISO, lol… I can barely tell with that full frame sensor – really!!

    Jason Fan

    November 3, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    • Thanks man! There’s nothing south of ISO1600 on this post except for the very last shot of the bridge. I’ll post the exif when I get home from work, but just to give you an idea, the Times Square shots are between 3200-6400, and the one I posted on flickr from 30 Rock is also at 3200. Gotta say, the D700 is amazingly sensitive.

      Jonathan

      November 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      • wow amazing, how’s it look at 75%? I’m afraid to go over 1600 on my D300.

        Jason Fan

        November 4, 2010 at 7:55 am

  2. Had you change to D700? Haha! Just notice recent picture are taken by D700!

    kay sen

    November 4, 2010 at 12:03 am

  3. Jason:
    Oops! I forgot to post exif last night. Was so busy hehe. Anyway, with the D300s I didn’t like going above 1600 either. With the D700, on the other hand, I shoot happily all the way through ISO6400. Seriously. A little NR in LR3 and boom, super clean even at larger sizes.

    Kay:
    Yup! Couldn’t resist some recent Nikon rebates =)

    Jonathan

    November 4, 2010 at 8:41 am

    • Jon, no worries.
      I’m always afraid to shoot low light, especially in a church (which I will have to do early Dec. for a christening). I’m currently saving for a FX and hopefully by then either the D800 or D4 will come out 😉
      Yeah, regarding noise I use Nik Dfine.

      Jason Fan

      November 5, 2010 at 5:28 pm

  4. Beautiful pics! In my last trip to NY we went to rock too… Really breathtaking view although it was quite expensive!

    drmauro

    November 7, 2010 at 9:09 am

  5. Man, you got some great shots of NYC. Love all the perspectives that you take them from :).

    Jasmine Lee

    November 7, 2010 at 2:35 pm

  6. Thanks everyone! Appreciate the comments =)

    Jonathan

    November 8, 2010 at 2:26 pm


Leave a Reply

