Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A San Francisco Sunset

with 8 comments


Nikon D700 + Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VRII at 16mm f/8, 1/20 second ISO800

For some reason, really breathtaking sunsets are not very common here in San Francisco. The last two sunsets in a row here, however, have been stunning. I took the image above and below this evening with Suki at my side. The plan was to actually use this rare back drop in an image of Suki for week 44 of 52 for my project, but it wasn’t meant to be.


Nikon D700 + Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VRII at 35mm f/8, 1/20 second ISO800

My wife was on her way to meet me with my lighting equipment, but she got stuck in traffic. I watched in agony as the beautiful light became perfect for a sunset portrait, and then quickly faded away. The peak of the sunset’s beauty lasted only minutes. It would have been silly to just sit there and watch without taking the camera out, so Suki I and strolled out onto the sand, and I fired off a few frames as the sun disappeared behind the horizon.


Nikon D700 + Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII at 55mm f/8, 1/20 second ISO800

This image is from last night, taken from the window of one of my bedrooms. I had a meeting to go to, so I couldn’t head to the beach that evening. I swore then that I’d get a shot of Suki out there the next day. Didn’t work out!


Nikon D700 + Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 VRII at 98mm f/5.6, 1/30 second ISO400

Here’s Suki looking out the same window. I put a chair there so she can keep an eye on the neighborhood, one of her favorite things to do.

Anyway, we’re going to try again tomorrow to get a nice sunset portrait of Suki for week 44. The weather is very erratic here in San Francisco, however, so there’s no guarantee I’ll have such a beautiful backdrop to work with. That’s the thing about photography. More often than not, getting the shot you want requires a great deal of persistence! It’s frustrating and fun all at the same time.

Written by Jonathan

November 4, 2010 at 7:31 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The sunset has definitely been gorgeous here in the city!! Beautiful photos. Glad you were able to capture it :)

    Jasmine Lee

    November 7, 2010 at 2:33 pm

  2. WOW! These are amazing, I remember you telling briefly about how you use LR to post process but I was wondering if you could give me a few pointers to render more natural looking sunsets without gong overboard? Yours are just perfect!

    Jun Song

    November 7, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • Jun! Nice to hear from you again. I could give a more thorough response here, but I see you emailed me, so I’ll shoot you a reply via email as soon as I can. The quick answer is that I actually do very little to my photos in post. In these images I just let the beautiful scene do all the talking. I believe I went about -1.0EV on my exposure comp to really saturate that beautiful sky. I’ll shoot you an email with more details. Thanks for stopping by!

      Jonathan

      November 8, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  3. What a wonderful shot of Suki. It’s particularly amusing to me because I just lost my Shiba named Rusty and he LOVED sitting in the window watching the world go by. Fond memories.

    Leslie

    November 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    • Leslie,

      I’m so sorry about Rusty. Suki is such a significant part of my life, so I can’t even fathom how sad you must be =(

      Jonathan

      November 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

  4. Awww, splendid, beautiful!
    those colors of the sky are kind of colors we don’t see in Japan.
    Gorgeous and pretty.
    And of course I love the shot of Suki chan! She’s always soooo lovely:))

    akane

    November 12, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    • Thanks Akane! I’m still jealous of Japan’s fall colors though =D

      Jonathan

      November 15, 2010 at 10:45 pm


Leave a Reply

