Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

2010 Lunar Eclipse

with 3 comments

Nikon D700 + Nikkor AFS 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 at 300mm f/5.6 | 1/20 second ISO6400

Last night, winter began with a complete lunar eclipse. Problem was that here in San Francisco it’s been raining very heavily. Unfortunately, for almost the entire duration of the eclipse,  the moon was hidden behind layers of heavy rain clouds.

For some reason I wasn’t even aware there was supposed to be an eclipse until right before it started. Got a text from someone in the family about it late last night, took the camera out of the bag and sat in the backyard for a while to see if the clouds would ever break. They did, but only once, and for about 10 seconds or so. As the moon entered the earth’s shadow and began to turn a beautiful, copper-red color, I had barely enough time to fire off a single frame before the moon disappeared again behind the clouds. Wishing I had more time, wishing I could get closer…agh, photography.

I waited and waited for it to appear again, but was only rewarded with falling water from the sky. Until that point, my dog was waiting right next to me in the yard, but as soon as the rain started falling, she quickly took cover. She’s not insane like I am =)

Written by Jonathan

December 21, 2010 at 11:29 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I snapped a couple but the clouds made it very difficult with the long exposure times i need. This is a good shot though.

    http://bb.nightskylive.net/asterisk/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=22361

    http://rashard.tumblr.com/post/2405534675/last-night-was-fun-fun-fun-not-my-vid

    rashard

    December 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm

  2. Beautiful!

    Vi | Loki the Shiba

    December 21, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  3. Hi Jonathan,

    As always, you serve as a mentor to me via the expressions of your art and, more importantly, the quality of your character.

    I know that I cannot possibly replicate what you display, but I am comfortable knowing that, one day, I will capture what is important to me in outputs that will inspire me to leave behind self-criticism of technical issues with my images.

    Jonathan, I wish you, your lovely spouse, and dear Suki the most joyous of times in the new year. Memories, Jonathan, are what you capture on film, but those who you love are the hosts. They are, indeed, priceless.

    Gary

    December 22, 2010 at 4:06 pm


Leave a Reply

