Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Looking Up

with 17 comments

Today’s post is just a few images I took from a stroll with Suki over one evening last weekend. The theme is “looking up,” with all of these shots taken from a low angle,  camera pointing upward.

Of course, you don’t really have much choice from ground level if you’re taking pictures of tall skyscrapers. You have to angle your camera up by necessity. With subjects at ground level, however, I like to create some drama by getting my camera as low as possible.

On a side note, I just found out that one of my favorite photographers ever, Joe McNally, along with David Hobby, Mr. Strobist himself, will be touring the country together and holding full-day demonstrations on lighting technique. This Flash Bus Tour is stopping in my hometown here in San Francisco next month! Wohoo!

I couldn’t possibly give up a chance to see these two in action, so I signed up right away. Actually, my wife knew I’d want to go….so as soon as I told her about it, she registered me for the event. Thanks honey. =)

Anyway, we strolled around Ferry Plaza here in San Francisco during sunset this past weekend. Here are a few images from the walk: 




Did I mention that it was just me and Suki out there? Camera in one hand, leash in the other. Not an ideal situation at all!

_____________________

All Images: Nikon D700 + Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

Written by Jonathan

February 10, 2011 at 9:37 am

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You did a great job with those pictures, even with Suki! Suki now needs her own camera, so we can see her point of view with “looking up”. =P

    Mika

    February 10, 2011 at 9:58 am

    • Thanks! Hmmm… a “Suki Cam.” That sounds hilarious! I really should give that a try

      Jonathan

      February 11, 2011 at 8:46 am

  2. The angle and reflected light on the railway track image grabbed my attention and pulled me to your post. The photograph of the tram car is an absolute stunner – that one is really hot! The work stands, one handed and all.

    Chris Martin

    February 10, 2011 at 10:28 am

  3. Love the low angle and love the 24 1.4.

    sm

    February 10, 2011 at 10:45 am

  4. Wow. Amazing pictures! I love the cross walk and the railing + bridge photo. The depth of filed is beautiful! What aperture did you use for those pictures?

    Austin Miller

    February 10, 2011 at 11:50 am

    • Thank you! With the exception of the top photo in this post, all these images were taken wide open at f/1.4.

      Jonathan

      February 11, 2011 at 8:48 am

  5. such lovely pics of SF! if SF wasn’t so cold (and expensive), I’d totally move there. i know, i’m such a wimp – calling SF cold, ha! lucky you that your spouse understands your photography passion so well!

    Karleen

    February 10, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    • Haha, total soCal wimp! Though really, all of us in Cali are wimps. My east coast friends find it pretty funny that “cold” to us starts at 60F. =P

      Jonathan

      February 11, 2011 at 9:30 am

  6. Oh man, Jon, these are some awesome shots. Who would have thought that a street sign would make for such a wicked photo? I would take SF over London ANY day of the week man… lol

    Kelven Ng

    February 13, 2011 at 2:01 am

    • Can’t argue with you there man, I’d choose SF too! Thanks!

      Jonathan

      February 18, 2011 at 9:03 am

  7. Very refreshing post! It is great when you can find beauty in everyday things. I am a big fan of the closeup of the train tracks, cool lighting and your eyes really follow the angular lines.
    -Jay

    jayaxe04

    February 14, 2011 at 2:35 am

    • Thank you Jay! Great connecting with you on wordpress as well as flickr. Really looking forward to your Akita project 😉

      Jonathan

      February 18, 2011 at 9:01 am

  8. flash bus in ATL April 2nd baby! Wow glad I stopped by. Nice shots too. I love that lens. It pairs well with your style

    Rashard

    February 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    • Are you going?! I’m looking forward to it so very much. Whohoo!

      Jonathan

      February 18, 2011 at 8:58 am

  9. Seriously great photos! Blog bookmarked

    Howie

    February 24, 2011 at 9:53 pm


Leave a Reply

