Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Off The Grid

with 10 comments


Dinner is served on the street tonight! San Francisco’s “Off The Grid” is a mobile market of gourmet food trucks that serve lunch and dinner weekly at various locations in the city. Tonight, the trucks converged on Upper Haight.


Yep, it’s cold in SF, but that doesn’t stop people from bundling up and getting in line for some taco truck action. These aren’t your typical roach coaches though. Gourmet, organic….hey, any trendy food buzz world you want to throw in the air, this mobile market has you covered.


The trucks line up in a circle surrounding the “dining area.” Basically a bunch of plastic chairs randomly strewn about on the street.


Where do you think I ate tonight? Best Sisig tacos I’ve ever had, ever! Every taco should have Sisig in it. Too mouth-watering to photograph. I think I finished two of them during the walk between the truck and my seat!


A little bit of live music adds to the ambience.


Of course, one of the most important reasons why I love dinner on the street is that I can have Suki with me. I’m not sure how she feels about it though. Can you tell she’s irritated that I won’t share my Sisig Tacos with her?

All images tonight courtesy of my D700 + Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G. Even though I’ve been loving my time with with the Olympus E-PL2, there’s a limit to its abilities. Trying to stop action and quickly auto focus under nothing but dim artificial lighting, with ISOs between 1600 and 3200, I was in D700 territory at tonight’s market. It’s worth noting, however, that the E-PL2 is so light and compact that I had it with in my bag as well.

Written by Jonathan

March 3, 2011 at 11:44 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, you’re sure to capture everything on MF with your Pen!;)) But these pics are really inviting…yes, I’m really hungry now before I start my job this evening. (Now I’ve been preparing for it but feel strongly sleepy, I’m surfing on the net;)
    So, what is sisig?? You ate it up before you took a picture, I have no idea what it is!:DD
    I bet Suki chan is glad to be with you, though she of course feel like a bite of what you eat!

    akane

    March 4, 2011 at 12:33 am

    • You’re right! I’ll have to rely more on MF for instances like this when using the PEN. It’ll take some getting used to =)

      Sisig is a Filipino style of preparing certain meats that involves a sour marinade like lemon juice and/or vinegar, with various spices added. The tacos I had tonight had Tuna Sisig in them. Think of it as seared まぐろ, a little sour and salty in flavor, in a Taco. Really really good. I promise I’ll take a picture next time!

      Oh, and we slipped Suki a little rice, so she didn’t watch us eat the entire time =)

      Jonathan

      March 4, 2011 at 12:48 am

  2. You have yet to try my version of Sisig. I am a Kapampangan, and sisig is our specialty. =)

    But i’d love to have one of those taco! Maybe i’ll try to have my own version. Hmmm…

    Nice photos, as usual!

    abcd

    March 4, 2011 at 1:30 am

  3. Yeah Sisig! You should try the crispy sisig here in PH! Nice set! I love this low-light/night shots!

    Wowie

    March 4, 2011 at 8:21 am

  4. Hoookay, I need to try this! I loved the food carts on Portland and was lamenting the lack thereof here. I wonder if they do weekends…

    Jacqueline

    March 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    • For sure you must! Unfortunately, they only come out at night on Thursdays and Fridays. Thursdays are at the location I went to here, and on Fridays, up to 30 vendors come to the Marina at Fort Mason. I’d love to see how you’d shoot an event like this actually. Your style is perfect for this kind of place!

      Jonathan

      March 4, 2011 at 1:11 pm

  5. Wow! You’ve actually made it to those mobile food restaurants, haha! I bet everything tasted as good as it sounded like. If you are ever in Honolulu, make a trip to North Shore to the shrimp trucks. OMG. The BEST sweet mouthwatering shrimp you will ever eat in your life!!!

    Jasmine Lee

    March 8, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • Aw man! I’ve been to the North Shore and I totally didn’t have that. For sure next time =P

      You gotta try Off the Grid when you get a chance though, so good! Great place to meet up with friends after work =)

      Jonathan

      March 10, 2011 at 10:55 am


Leave a Reply

