Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Cindy @ Photoworks

with 9 comments

When I found that that Cindy and Seth were hosting a small photo show this evening in San Francisco, I knew I had to check it out. Cindy maintains one of my all time favorite Flickr photostreams, and I’ve been following her work for a long time.

The show was open for a couple hours tonight at PhotoWorks, a small, professional photo lab that’s been around since I was a kid. Cindy shoots anything and everything, from iphone camera to medium format film, and man is she good at what she does. This lab is where she gets all those gorgeous prints developed.



The lab also sells Holga cameras, accessories, and film, which were all on display. I was tempted to buy some actually, but the store was closed. Oh well.





Not only is Cindy an amazing artist, but she’s super cool. We chatted with her for a while, talking photography, cameras, film vs digital, flash, coffee, and followed each other on Instagram. Though she’s by no means a film elitest, she did successfully convince me to dust off my old SLR and pick up a few rolls of film.

I had Seth take a picture of us, though I apparently handed him my EPL-2 with its auto-focus set incorrectly, and I turned out as an out of focus blob in the frame…hence, the nice picture of Bridge and Cindy and about two inches of my head. Hah.

Check out Cindy’s beautiful collection of images on her Flickr Page!

__________________________________
Images: Olympus PEN E-PL2 + Panasonic 20mm f’1.7

Written by Jonathan

March 25, 2011 at 10:46 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. It was just tonight. Thanks for posting so fast. The pictures printed and mounted really added a lot more life into the already beautiful images. Would definitely check them out when I’m in the area. So many talented people om Flickr!

    Howie

    March 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm

  2. So glad to hear you are picking up the SLR and shooting some film!! I’m a big fan of Cindy’s too, along with many of the photographers she inspired or who were inspired her! Its a particularly talented web/corner of the flickrverse!

    Cara

    March 26, 2011 at 6:59 am

  3. oh nice! i met cindy and seth back in january on a flickr mixer in sf. ’twas very fun. sounds like you had a great time!

    Jacqueline

    March 26, 2011 at 9:05 am

  4. Whoa! Surely I’d drop by if I was nearby!

    It was a while since your last post. ;)

    absz

    March 26, 2011 at 9:19 am

  5. Very nice, if I were there and Cindy was having an exhibit I would definitely go. Love her work… particularly with film!

    Kelven Ng

    March 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  6. She looks very much of a talented artist.

    Jim Dell

    March 27, 2011 at 3:11 am

  7. Thanks everyone! Had a great time that night. Cindy is fantastic!

    Jonathan

    March 31, 2011 at 7:58 am

  8. Thanks for sharing! Are her photos on some kind of plaque?

    Randi

    May 1, 2011 at 12:21 am

  9. cool!!!!i want those films~!

    vanillamie

    May 2, 2011 at 12:03 am


Leave a Reply

