Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Rained In

with 14 comments

We had an engagement shoot scheduled this past weekend at the Palace of Fine Arts. Unfortunately, we caught the tail end of a few weeks of very heavy rain here in the San Francisco bay area. Geared up and waiting for our couple to arrive, I took a couple snaps of my voice-activated-light stand. Look at her…braving the rain, portable soft box in hand. Such a trooper.

The sun tried to fight the dark clouds, but the rain and wind picked up as we waited. By the time the couple arrived…it just wasn’t going to happen. Doh!

We did, however, spend some time exploring the newly renovated Palace. Such a beautiful place. Looking forward to sunnier skies this weekend!
_________

Nikon D700 | Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII

Written by Jonathan

March 29, 2011 at 5:13 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice that you’re finally putting that 70-200 to good use… mine is starting to collect dust!!

    Jason Fan

    March 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    • Hah, mine was too. I tend to shoot wide so this lens had no love for a while. Gotta love it though =)

      Jonathan

      March 31, 2011 at 7:52 am

  2. Bummer about the weather. Just cleared up, too! But hopefully you can reschedule.

    Isn’t the Palace so nice? I was just there in February.

    Jacqueline

    March 29, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • I hadn’t been back since they remodeled it! The grounds around the palace look WAY better now. We’re going to try again this weekend, but I don’t trust the Bay Area weather to treat me kindly. Here’s hoping!

      Jonathan

      March 31, 2011 at 7:53 am

  3. This lens shows a lot of promise.

    Jim Dell

    March 29, 2011 at 6:23 pm

  4. these shots are incredibly beautiful. the model, the poses, the light, the rain, the bokeh. kinda speechless.

    cara

    March 29, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    • Thank you Cara! I’ve never left someone kinda speechless before ;P

      Jonathan

      March 31, 2011 at 7:54 am

  5. So you’ll take photos of the couple this weekend? I hope it’ll clear up!:)

    But I love these photos in the rain. In fact I have wanted to shoot in the rain. I love photos with moisture feel.

    akane

    March 30, 2011 at 7:58 am

    • Yes! We’ll try again for sure, but the weather is so unpredictable here! I also love shooting in the rain. It rained the whole time I was in Kyoto last year and I loved every minute of it =)

      Jonathan

      March 31, 2011 at 7:55 am

  6. These photos look absolutely amazing. I always love amazing rain shots. I know they will reschedule because your photos are absolutely amazing.

    Babygirl

    March 30, 2011 at 8:19 am

    • Thank you very much! We’ll see how it goes when we reschedule

      Jonathan

      March 31, 2011 at 7:55 am

  7. the first pic is so beautiful!

    eva626

    March 30, 2011 at 3:00 pm


Leave a Reply

