Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Blue Bottle Mint Plaza

with 10 comments


Olympus E-PL2 + Panasonic 20mm f/1.7

Early one morning, I  hit up the Mint street Blue Bottle cafe with some friends.  Just outside we were greeted by some empty tables and these high school chemistry lab chairs, which cracked me up. They did seem to fit the cafe’s styling though.

The cafe is small, but surrounded by huge windows that reach all the the way up to the super-high ceiling. The early morning sun was pouring through the windows from the east, while at the same time bouncing off the exterior of the building, hitting the grey building across the street, and radiating back through the windows again. This created lighting that any photographer would drool over.

We arrived just as they opened, so the place was pretty empty. This one man got comfortable right away, putting his hat up, placing his book on a stand, and enjoying a hand-made brew. Wish I had more time to just chill at cafes…we were getting our coffees to go!

Good friends, good coffee, beautiful lighting. What a perfect morning.

Photos courtesy of my Olympus PEN E-PL2 with a Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 lens, a combo that just keeps growing on me. It’s just so easy to take this camera everywhere. I can pull it out in public places without even being noticed as I snap away.

These are all out-of-camera JPEGs. I recently installed an update to Adobe Camera Raw that’ll allow me to start playing with the camera’s RAW data. We’ll see what becomes of it =)

Written by Jonathan

April 8, 2011 at 8:39 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there, enjoying your blog! I commented yesterday on your review of your new Olympus ELP-2 and I plan to return to check out your pictures. I’m new to the 4/3rds world (and DSLRs for that matter) as well as photo blogs in general so i appreciate that you post what kind of lens you’ve used, as well as the settings. Am slowly learning and trying to get the hang of it so it’s great to check out blogs like yours. Wonderful pix of Suki, engagement shoot, coffee runs, food trucks—keep up the great work!

    Tati

    April 8, 2011 at 10:13 am

    • Hi again, and thanks for coming back and visiting my blog! I’m glad you found some of the information here helpful. If you’re new to photography, I highly recommend sharing your work online, setting up a blog like this one, or uploading to a site like Flickr. It’s a great way to connect with other artist, gather inspiration, and get your worked noticed. Thanks again!

      Jonathan

      April 8, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  2. I took pics here too! I daresay it is one of the most photogenic places in San Fran. A bold statement, but I stand by it. High ceilings, huge windows, bright interiors, making-of shots… so gorgeous. And with their New Orleans Style Iced Coffee… agggh, heaven.

    Btw, I tried the Mint Mojito at Philz — OMG. Ridiculously good. Even better than Philtered Soul. I’d like to try the Sooo Good next but I don’t know if I can resist the Mint Mojito.

    Oh, here’s my version of BB: http://happysnapshots.wordpress.com/2010/12/16/blue-bottle-cafe/

    Jacqueline

    April 8, 2011 at 10:29 am

    • I know what you mean! Pictures sort of just make themselves happen in there with all that soft, wrapping light. I need to come back with my other camera and give it another go ;)

      That mint mojito is insane isn’t it?! Definitely my favorite cold coffee ever.

      Jonathan

      April 8, 2011 at 12:13 pm

  3. Beautiful shots fromt he EP2. Never seen this place so empty before.

    Howie

    April 8, 2011 at 10:40 am

    • Thanks! Yeah, it was empty because we got there RIGHT when it opened. Didn’t take long for lots of people to start showing up after I took a few frames.

      Jonathan

      April 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  4. Awww, absolutely lovely! I wanna sit at the window seat, whiling away with a cup of jo, taking photos! This place really looks nice and cozy!

    akane

    April 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    • Every time I come here, I’m just passing through on my way to somewhere else. I gotta come here one day and just relax for a while! Maybe next time =)

      Jonathan

      April 9, 2011 at 10:44 am

  5. I would have NEVER known that this was taken with your EP2…. My goodness… What great qualities that little thing has! :) Nice blog, the place really looks like New York to me.

    Jasmine Lee

    April 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • You’re right, it did feel like I was in Greenwich Village or something when I was there. Oh, and my new little camera…it continues to surprise me! Thanks Jas =)

      Jonathan

      April 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm


Leave a Reply

