Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Tych Panel: Making Diptychs, Triptychs, and More

with 21 comments

I follow many photo bloggers who arrange their images in beautiful multi-panel layouts on their blog posts. I love the look of multiple panels, so I started presenting my work in the same way here. Ever since I started doing it, however, I’ve been asked the same question many, many times:

“Hey Jonathan, how do you make these multi-panel thingys? Do you arrange them manually or do you use some kind of software?”

Here’s the secret:

When I first started arranging my photos into multiple panels, I did indeed make everything manually in Photoshop. What a pain! Now I use a third-party Photoshop CS5 extension called Tych Panel. As a Photoshop extension, it works right in CS5 as an additional panel that automates the diptych/triptych process. It’s so easy to use that I laughed the first time I gave it a try. How easy? Check out the video below to see what was involved in making the diptych at the top of this post (might want to view in full screen):

.

Whew! Doesn’t get much simpler than that, does it? What about the triptych below?

Just open the files, chose the pattern you want, and Tych Panel does the rest:

.

Ok, what if you want to get crazy and just keep adding photos to make one really big multi-tych? Can do!

.

I know the videos moved a little fast and didn’t specifically outline the step by step directions for using Tych Panel. Have no fear!Β Reimund Trost, the developer of this amazing extension, has very detailed instructions on how to use Tych Panel on his website.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, Tych Panel is FREE. Head on over to the link below to download it and give it a try yourself:

http://lumens.se/tychpanel/

Hey fellow bloggers, how do you create your dips and trips?

Written by Jonathan

June 16, 2011 at 9:49 pm

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is neat!

    Annie Hall

    June 16, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  2. I’m laughing really hard right now. I do everything on Photoshop manually, and it sure is a pain in the ass. I was always looking for a program to do this for me, I even though of just creating an action, but then there’s a lot of variation in sizes when you start cropping. Thank you very much for this post!!! Makes life a lot more easier.

    solarsanction

    June 17, 2011 at 12:02 am

  3. OMG! This is exactly what I’m looking for!
    Thank you very much!

    yavuz

    June 17, 2011 at 3:28 am

  4. So that’s how you do it hehe. Great! Thanks!

    Wowie

    June 17, 2011 at 5:58 am

  5. Dang, I would have LOVED this a few months ago, when I was constantly struggling to manually create collages. But then I got Storyboard (www.storyboardrocks.com) and suddenly it became SO easy and fast. It wasn’t free, but it is completely worth it. Saved me literally hours per collage.

    Jacqueline

    June 17, 2011 at 6:38 am

    • Aaah. Storyboard actually caught my attention first, but I’m cheap. =) I do remember doing n-tychs manually and thinking “can’t this be scripted some how?!?!?!?” Gotta love these expert coders out there.

      Jonathan

      June 17, 2011 at 6:49 am

      • Yeah, I resisted Storyboard too… Jonathan. You should have just said FREE in your first sentence because you had me at FREE. Nice tutorials =)

        Howie

        June 17, 2011 at 10:35 am

  6. Thk u for sharing… saved my life just right now πŸ™‚

    Femi

    June 17, 2011 at 7:08 am

  7. i have cs3, so does that mean i won’t get to enjoy this nifty extension? looks soooo easy! i’m still doing mine manually.

    Karleen

    June 18, 2011 at 9:03 am

  8. That guy on the 1st photo (with hat on the window) always reminds me of Steve Jobs when I see him – you’ve posted him a few times before πŸ™‚

    It’s cool that Tych Panel is free, so most people should be able to afford it – just too bad it’s for Photoshop, I’d love a plugin like this for Aperture 3.

    Klaus

    June 19, 2011 at 3:31 am

  9. Wow, that is neat!
    Unfortunately, I’m to poor to buy CS5 so I’ve been using collage templates for Lightroom 3. πŸ™‚
    I found free templates that I find very useful too:

    http://www.halinav.com/blog/2010/04/lightroom-collage/

    Juan Paulo

    June 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

  10. Thanks Jonathan, this looks like a lifesaver! I plan on supplementing my Lightroom with CS5 soon, so I can’t wait to try this out.

    John

    June 19, 2011 at 10:42 pm

  11. This I have to check out and try! Thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

    /Pia

    Pia Olsson

    June 20, 2011 at 10:55 pm

  12. oh no waiiii! this looks awesome. i always make mine by hand, even the ones like 7000 px high πŸ˜›

    Alice

    June 21, 2011 at 3:06 pm

  13. wow thanks for sharing the “secret”! i was wondering the same about your tiled photos. i can’t wait to go home and try this extension!

    nobuko

    June 23, 2011 at 10:21 am

  14. google Picassa has a nice collage feature; that’s what i use.

    Melissa

    June 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  15. Hey Jonathan, Hope you’re well. I recently installed the app. However, I’m having issues when trying to do one with one portrait, and two landscapes. I think the issue might be because the sizes are different from crop. Do you get this issue sometimes?

    solarsanction

    June 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    • Try outputting your images to the same size and aspect ratio first, then open them in Tych Panel. That should do the trick =)

      Jonathan

      June 27, 2011 at 7:53 am

  16. Hey thanks for the response on the other thread. This is cool. I’ve been doing similar thing using “Print” function of Lightroom and then print the image into a JPEG file, which is a standard feature. But every time I want to make some different shapes/sizes I have to create a preset, you know.

    Ryuji - boston photog

    January 2, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  17. […] been using the first version of Tych Panel to create all of the custom image layouts I display here on my blog, and it has been such a huge […]


Leave a Reply

