Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Road Trip!

with 16 comments


Nikon D700 + Nikkor 24mm f/1.4G

Yup, I’m blogging from the open road. Internet has been spotty, but I’ve figured out ways to get some images up from the first leg of our trip to see some friends in Arizona.

Gear is pretty simple. Packed my newly aquired Fuji X100, along with my D700 and one lens, the 24mm f/1.4. The D700 came along for one very specific purpose, which I’ll post about later. I used it only a couple of times, and the rest of the trip has been all X100.

We began with a long drive all through the night, so the sun was rising by the time we hit the desert. It was incredibly beautiful, and pretty surreal. Seeing ghost towns and rusted old trains in the middle of nowhere…spooky!

This road was actually on the map! Crazy fun drive.

Ouch. When you’re the only gas station for miles and miles, I guess you can really gouge.

Most of the road trip looked like the above, but when we arrived in Arizona, we were met with a ton of natural beauty:


Fuji X100


Fuji X100


Fuji X100


Fuji X100

We took turns driving non-stop for 16 hours. Only a few days into the trip and I’ve taken about a thousand pictures. More to come!

Written by Jonathan

June 22, 2011 at 6:04 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How fun! I feel like I’m traveling along with you. Glad you got one of Route 66; such an iconic highway! Can’t wait to see more posts.

    Jacqueline

    June 22, 2011 at 6:24 am

  2. wow! I luv the pics! It makes me want to go for a road-trip too!

    roniel

    June 22, 2011 at 6:51 am

  3. To me this is America!:)) Scenery with sharp and strong contrast.
    The sky in the dusk has incredibly beautiful colors!

    akane

    June 22, 2011 at 6:54 am

  4. I live in the Phoenix area and I just love Arizona. I think it’s one of the prettiest states (though I might be a little biased). Its climate and natural beauty is just so diverse. Snow to desert in two hours!

    Have fun! Can’t wait to see more pictures!

    Austin Miller

    June 22, 2011 at 8:31 am

  5. Your photos are fantastic! I live in Arizona and love the state’s huge diversity in climate and landscape. Hope you have a great time while visiting!

    Stay cool! Its gonna be in the high 100’s all week!

    Matty 😀

    Matty

    June 22, 2011 at 8:35 am

  6. Love the photos! It’s fun seeing your pictures as you take them, instead of all of them after the trip. Can’t wait to see more!
    And curious about the D700…

    Natalie

    June 22, 2011 at 8:40 am

  7. beautiful photos! 🙂 i’d love to go on a road trip to arizona too.
    enjoy the fujix100 !

    Izzy

    June 22, 2011 at 8:40 am

  8. i’ve been wishfully browsing photos taken by d700… ahhh agreed with natalie here.

    Izzy

    June 22, 2011 at 8:41 am

  9. Dude those sunset photos are freakin’ gorgeous! Especially the one with the road down the middle and the mountains fading into the background. Man, I would frame that immediately!

    Kelven Ng

    June 22, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  10. Beautiful pictures Jonathan. I like how you take shots of simple things like road signs and make them magical. Is Suki with you?

    Melissa

    June 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    • Unfortunately Suki is at home, but she’s spending the entire time with my cousin, so she’s ok. We on the other hand miss her terribly!

      Thanks for the comments everyone! It’s ridiculous hot out here…112F Today!!!

      Jonathan

      June 22, 2011 at 6:40 pm

  11. This is so cool! It’s fun to see your trip while you’re still on the road. Feels like you are taking us along the ride. Beautiful colors from the x100.

    Howie

    June 22, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  12. Fabulous pics u have taken along the way. Feel as if we are with u guys! Enjoy man!

    Ting

    June 23, 2011 at 12:04 am

  13. Oh I wish I could be there. I love these photos, I want to go one day with a car through the U.S. – the scenery is so infinite. Thanks for the inspiration.

    kristin

    June 23, 2011 at 3:39 am

  14. Ah, roadtrips are the best! Loving the bold colors in those sunset shots. Looks like a great time away from the city.

    John

    June 23, 2011 at 10:22 am

  15. wow, really love these roadside photos. the scenery is amazing! i can’t believe you guys drove thru the night! i’m paranoid and would be afraid of having the car break down in the middle of nowhere in the middle of the night.

    Karleen

    June 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm


Leave a Reply

