Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Wide and Fast

with 14 comments


Nikon D700 + Nikkor AFS 24mm f/1.4G | 1/1,600 sec, f/1.4, ISO 200

My poor DSLR has been on the bench ever since I added the X100 to my bag, at least for personal photography. Feeling a little guilty about it, I hauled it along with me today on our regular outing with Suki. Heavy? Oh yes.

But I had almost forgotten how much I love shooting with my favorite wide lens. Pretty much fell in love with the 24mm all over again this morning.

___________________

Nikon D700 | Nikkor 24mm f1.4G AFS

Written by Jonathan

September 25, 2011 at 9:10 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. can’t beat the occasional lovely weight of such a fantastic camera! :))

    Annie

    September 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  2. Hi Suki! Looking good again with the D700! 🙂

    Jasmine

    September 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  3. wow, i’m surprised at the DOF on the 24mm — that’s some nice bokeh! sometimes you just can’t beat the good old ginormous DSLR. 🙂

    Jacqueline

    September 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  4. Sweet! 🙂

  5. The quality of the combination is of the highest possible.

    Jim Dell

    September 26, 2011 at 3:45 am

  6. That bokeh is definitely stunning! Thanks for sharing.

    dharuma

    September 26, 2011 at 5:34 am

  7. Such a nice lens, and Suki is the perfect subject! The photo of her blinking is the cutest. =D

    Bridget

    September 26, 2011 at 6:47 am

  8. Umm, if you’re not using that D700, you can pass it this way. 🙂 Love the photos! And that lens works just as it should–powerfully! 🙂

    KatiesCameraBlog

    September 26, 2011 at 6:55 am

  9. Ha. Suki winked at me.

    Howie

    September 26, 2011 at 1:02 pm

  10. Although a bit more hefty and inconvenient, you gotta love the full frame quality that the D700 affords. I haven’t been shooting with my 5D much these days as I look forward to one of the new point & shoots coming out hopefully soon.

    John

    September 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  11. love the shallow depth of field here,
    you guys have the cutest dog, so photogenic!

    I looked through your 52 weeks of Suki project and was really impressed!

    I got used to the weight of d700 as I carry it with me everywhere, but can not get over the fact how noisy it is with shutter release/mirror flip…don’t you think?

    M.

    September 28, 2011 at 8:48 am

    • Yeah, it’s definitely a noisy camera, no way around it! Thanks for checking out the Suki project =)

      Jonathan

      September 29, 2011 at 9:39 pm

  12. I think I first came across your site via Freshly Pressed…it’s all becoming a blur now. But in any case I truly enjoy your photography and commentary. As a result I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Go to this post to claim. http://youasanachine.com/blog/

    You As A Machine

    September 29, 2011 at 8:13 pm

  13. love that winking photo of suki! the bokeh on this lens is sweeet!

    Karleen

    October 1, 2011 at 3:49 pm


Leave a Reply

