Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

iPhone 4s: My New Ultra-Compact Camera of Choice

with 14 comments

Aw come on, Siri. I had higher hopes for you! Kidding. So I picked up an iPhone 4S over the weekend, and I’m pretty impressed with it. Besides the fact that the geeky sci-fi nerd in me loves the conversations I can have with my new “digital assistant”, the photographer in me is loving this new camera.

Seems like Apple has finally focused more attention on camera performance with this latest generation iPhone. With improved optics, a better sensor, and more processing horsepower behind it, the new camera is, in my opinion, leaps and bounds better than the one it replaces. It won’t have me leaving my always-with-me X100 at home, but I’m afraid my little Canon S90 is done for.

I’ve only had a couple opportunities to shoot with the iPhone 4S over the last few days, but here’s a small sampling from my weekend with it:

Not bad for a camera phone. On top of all this, these images synced over the cloud while I was out shooting (edit: when I found a wifi connection), and were therefore waiting for me on my computer when I got home. The fact that the iPhone is a connected camera sets it apart from the traditional ultra-compact camera competition in a very significant way, even if image quality still doesn’t quite stack up to that of a high-end compact like the Canon S100 or Panasonic LX5. But personally, I’ll probably never buy another compact camera. Between the X100 and my iPhone 4s, I’m totally covered, and I’m looking forward to testing out the 4s a lot more in the coming weeks.

___________

All Images: iPhone 4s

Written by Jonathan

October 25, 2011 at 8:23 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No wonder my son has started hinting about the 4s. Your photos far outshine my own shot with my Canon t2i. I might have to get one for myself!

    Doc

    October 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm

  2. The f-stop on the camera is f-2, so it’ll definitely be able to help you all day and night. And theres accessory lenses you can buy. But youre right about the cloud factor, to have pics waiting for you is so awesome, no more finding cables or losing cards.

    Pleasure to follow your blog.
    Nice to meet you,
    Kashfi

    Kashfi

    October 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm

  3. Hello Jon,

    Nice pic and thanks for sharing..4s indeed has a great camera. I think that no one is buying pns cameras anymore. 🙂

    waiting for more pics !!!!

    Billy

    October 25, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  4. i cannot WAIT until this comes back in stock for sprint! i am so getting it.

    also, very close to buying the x100. just sayin’.

    Jacqueline

    October 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  5. oh no! you can’t leave the s90! haha jk. nice post on the 4s. I’ve been a faithful Blackberry user and have been contemplating to switch over to the 4s. Thanks for sharing the review!

    Jasmine

    October 25, 2011 at 10:02 pm

  6. Hi. The photo stream is only available over wifi so wouldn’t have been being uploaded as you shoot but rather as soon as you got into your wifi range.
    Aside from that I am so impressed with the camera! It’s simply incredible!

    Paul Pride

    October 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    • You’re right! I probably thought otherwise because I had access to wifi hot-spots before I actually returned home, though I’m thinking I’ll probably be able to fix this “issue” with a jailbreak =)

      Jonathan

      October 26, 2011 at 4:41 am

  7. from what i can see, the ‘s’ is quite the photographer…
    btw, my x100 just arrived in the mail yesterday – luv it so far!!

    Jay

    October 26, 2011 at 4:52 am

  8. Wow.. the camera on the iPhone does look amazing. I never thought it would turn out to be so clear. Thanks for posting these photos

    Kay aka Babygirl

    October 26, 2011 at 9:39 am

  9. I heard about the 4S camera being better than the 4, but I didn’t realize it was this good!

    JL

    October 26, 2011 at 10:36 am

  10. The pictures do look great on the 4s. The compacts are done for

    Howie

    October 26, 2011 at 10:41 am

  11. ok my favorite pic is the last one with the camera in it, because there is nice lights and its very simple, i just simply love it!!!!

    emilyfujiemair

    October 27, 2011 at 8:40 am

  12. Great set of shots with the 4s. I’ve contemplated upgrading my 4 as well for the bump up in camera quality.

    John

    October 27, 2011 at 10:48 pm

  13. That’s a really funny opening photo. I especially love the last photo in the series. The light hits the camera and grass in a really great way.

    Maggie

    October 30, 2011 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

