Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Still My Favorite Bridge

with 19 comments


Fuji x100 | 30 sec, f/11, ISO 200

The Bay Bridge may have just celebrated a milestone anniversary, but the beauty of the Golden Gate is unmatched. Combining beautiful weather with a holiday weekend, there was just no way I’d be able to shoot from the headlands yesterday. It was just too packed with tourists up there. So I opted for a less known area to the east of the bridge. Besides a few scattered people here and there, Suki and I basically had the whole place to ourselves.


Nikon D700 + Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | 16mm,1/320 sec, f/2.8, ISO 800

While this is quite an enjoyable sight for me, hanging out by the water here couldn’t be more boring for Suki, who prefers to be on the move. It’s still nice to have a little bit of company, even if its reluctant company 🙂


Fuji x100 | 30 sec, f/16, ISO 200

This shot was taken about 5 minutes after the one up top. I tweaked the white balance to give the sky a cooler, bluer look, whereas the top image shows the color as I set it at the camera. Can’t decide which one I like better, but the top image is a more accurate representation of how the scene actually looked. I hope to get more fiery clouds in the background next time, but at least there were more clouds yesterday than there were when I made my last attempt at this location.

Written by Jonathan

November 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Passion for a subject always adds an extra interest. Well shot and presented.

    Jim Dell

    November 14, 2011 at 10:30 am

  2. Wow have I ever missed a lot. How have you been Jon?? Hope that you, Suki, and Bridget are all doing well! Both shots of the Golden Gate here are amazing… absolutely digging those colors and the composition here.

    Kelven Ng

    November 14, 2011 at 10:44 am

    • Hey man! We’re doing great, hope you’re well yourself. Come back to visit SF some time, will ya!? =)

      Jonathan

      November 15, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  3. JONATHAN, YOU ARE TRULY MY FAVORITE PHOTOGRAPHER IN THE WHOLE WORLD! I AM ONE OF YOUR SUBSCRIBERS AND I AM BLOWN AWAY WITH EACH OF YOUR POSTS! KEEP UP THE AWESOME AND OUTSTANDING WORK! I AM YOUR BIGGEST FAN!

    Nikitaland

    November 14, 2011 at 10:44 am

  4. Great shoot. Thank to you I begin to do long time exposure with X100. Compared to my D80 and ND400, there is no comparaison 🙂 The D80 has a giant vignette (black border) although nothing with X100.
    This is a great camera !

    Thank for your shoots. It is eyes pleasure !

    zepouet

    November 14, 2011 at 11:35 am

  5. I love the long exposures !!! 🙂

    robertphildyhringer

    November 14, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  6. Holy moly. Stunning. And I love seeing the set-up shot. Have to say, my favorite bridge is probably the Brooklyn. 😛

    Alice

    November 14, 2011 at 12:40 pm

  7. Pure awesomeness! Saw these beautiful clouds last night while I was driving on the Bay Bridge. Gorgeous all around! Love the second one.

    Jasmine Lee

    November 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  8. AWESOME picture! LOVE the Golden Gate.

    travelwithlaughter

    November 14, 2011 at 6:25 pm

  9. dang dude. you really know how to work that x100. hats off, my friend. (and it’s my favorite bridge too.)

    Jacqueline

    November 14, 2011 at 6:50 pm

  10. Agree .. very nice photos

    dd16591569

    November 15, 2011 at 3:30 am

  11. These are stunning!

    Hogger & Co.

    November 15, 2011 at 5:59 am

  12. Thanks everyone!

    Jonathan

    November 15, 2011 at 12:54 pm

  13. Awesome shots. And I just love that you go shooting with Suki. If it were my dog he’d be a) jumping into the water and b) wrecking the camera equipment.

    everythingglitters

    November 15, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  14. So pretty! I can’t wait to make it there some day!!

    StrangeLittleGirl

    November 19, 2011 at 8:03 am

  15. It’s beautiful. Is that taken with the stock lens?

    Keefe

    November 7, 2012 at 7:38 am

  16. i live in san francisco & i love your photos! i was wondering…what tripod are you using?

    erica

    March 22, 2013 at 10:46 am

    • Thank you! I was using a Gorillapod portable tripod for these shots. =)

      Jonathan

      March 22, 2013 at 10:53 am


Leave a Reply

