Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Coffee, Chocolate, Tintypes and Lomo Gear

with 10 comments

This amazing tintype portrait of my wife was taken by Michael Shindler over at Photobooth SF on Valencia. The folks there were nice enough to send me a digital copy of it (pictured right). The original, of course, is a beautiful photograph forged on a metal plate using early 19th century tech. You can see more examples of this amazing artform on Photobooth’s website.

If you’ve been following my blog lately, you probably know that I frequent this shop. I originally discovered it on opening night, and came back again later to purchase some  film and get schooled on Polaroid photography.

This time, there were a bunch more reasons to return to Photobooth. First of all, a free coffee and Pacari chocolate tasting. Hello! Coffee and Photography are like, my favorite things ever. Favorite-things-ever overload goin’ on here.

Despite the fact that it was raining, we decided to bring Suki. She was looking quite stylish in her silly 70’s coat. The three of us hung out, checked out the new Lomography gear, watched the tintype studio in action, sipped on our (free!) Blue Bottle, and nom’d on some seriously good chocolate. Ok, obviously Suki didn’t eat, but she did meet people, sniff stuff, and made us look cooler than we tend to look without her around 😉

A few more snaps from the event:

That’s what I’m talking about. I normally pay 3-4 bucks a cup for Blue Bottle pour over. Went perfectly with little nibbles of Pacari chocolate.

A tinype of Suki would have been cool right? Impossible. I was told that the exposure time for a tintype is about 4 seconds, requiring the subject to be perfectly still for at least that long. Suki is used to being photographed, but not like that!

Another reason we really wanted to check out Photobooth again was the arrival of the Lomokino Movie Maker, pictured above. Vince, one of the owners, showed me how it worked and let me and Bridget view a finished roll of film shot with this camera. Hmmm, should we get one?

Should we get one!?!??!

We totally got one. I’ll run some film through it and share the details and results in another blog post. Stay tuned!

________________

Images: Fuji X100

Written by Jonathan

November 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you guys all had a blast! I’m bummed that you guys couldn’t get a tintype of Suki! I was totally expecting to see one on the post 🙂 I think the vest looks really good on her. That tintype of Bridget is absolutely stunning!! Did you gets guys get a print of it to keep?

    Karleen

    November 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    • Thanks Karleen! You better believe I have the original tintype =)

      Jonathan

      November 19, 2011 at 9:41 pm

  2. Very nice photos
    Love the portrait Of your lovely wife too
    Wish a blessed day and life

    DD

    November 19, 2011 at 10:04 pm

  3. Coffee, Chocolate, and Photography? It doesn’t get any better than that. Looking forward to your thoughts on the Lomokino thing. I have a number of Lomography Cameras and always enjoy using them.

    You have a lovely wife and I really liked your presentation. Kudos.

    danjphoto

    November 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm

  4. Great shot of your wife. It looks like that is quite a nice photo shop, it is nice to keep alive the old but that is to much work for me.

    Jim Dell

    November 20, 2011 at 4:13 am

  5. These photos are amazing, but my heart did break a little when you finally addressed the Suki/tintype issue, hah. I was in SF back in April but am already planning a post-holiday trip because I’m DYING to visit this place!

    Kim

    November 20, 2011 at 9:36 am

  6. So fun, I love these little “event coverage” blogposts. I can’t wait to use the Lomokino!

    Bridget

    November 20, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  7. the tintype is beautiful. and that b&w pic of suki sitting there is killing me — so adorable! i must sadly say that i haven’t been up to this shop yet but i really want to! it’s on the short list. i’m worried i’ll leave there with a serious dent in my wallet.

    Jacqueline

    November 20, 2011 at 10:17 pm

  8. I’m so envious! I would’ve love this event…coffee, chocolate and photography…all of my favorite things!

    M.

    November 20, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  9. […] SF without coming home with some kind of new photographic goodie, whether it be an awesome tintype portrait, some Polaroid film, or an analogue camera of some sort. On our last visit, we picked up the new […]


Leave a Reply

