Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Kyoto in Black and White

with 38 comments

I recently went over some of the images I took on what till this day I still consider to be my favorite photo walk ever.  Thinking about exploring the rain soaked streets of Kyoto on our most recent visit to Japan brings back some great memories of that beautiful city.

These photographs were originally processed in color, but I spent the night yesterday converting them into a simulation of Kodak Tri-X black and white film. VSCO rocks, y’all.

I miss this place.

___________________________

View these images larger

Images: Nikon D300s + Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC

Written by Jonathan

November 21, 2011 at 5:05 pm

38 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stunning, nice work.

    Wes

    November 21, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  2. These images are so nostalgic for me! I really miss Kyoto now. Great job with the processing, they look amazing!

    Bridget

    November 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  3. I miss being there too. Excellent processing.

    Jim Dell

    November 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  4. I remember seeing these in color a long time ago. It’s AMAZING how color can make such a different. With rich, vibrant reds and dark blue tones, it looks modern and “naturous”. In black and white it looks like an olden time period. Both are beautiful!

    JL

    November 21, 2011 at 6:06 pm

  5. Nice photos. This is really nostalgic for me as I recognise almost all of it.

    ccorks

    November 21, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  6. L-O-V-E all these photos. I just looked through some of your Japan photos and saw the colour version of a few. The black and white looks so good and effect a different mood. I am following your blog 😉

    marinachetner

    November 21, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  7. That first image is so gorgeous!! I’d love to have that as a print 🙂 These all look great as BW. I too got VSCO film presets and am loving them so far. Some people worry about their images looking their other people’s images if they all used the same presents, but I feel like there are so many different ways of using the presets that one can still get a unique look.

    Karleen

    November 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  8. These are beautiful! You make me miss it too; and I have never even been there!

    The Artist Makena

    November 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  9. Beautiful set!

    Fotograf fredric

    November 21, 2011 at 10:24 pm

  10. Great shoots. Without explanation I will give my hand to cut that it was film 🙂

    zepouet

    November 22, 2011 at 12:05 am

  11. Wow, stunning photos! They’re beautiful.

    thelightinyou

    November 22, 2011 at 1:20 am

  12. Nice pics. You must like bikes they are in many of your photos. Looks like you are having great time. I hope all are doing well in the nation.

    Best Regards,
    Howard

    Howard Tyree

    November 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

  13. I’m a real sucker for b&w, and these are simply gorgeous!!!

    M.

    November 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  14. Black and white photos, to me, are just amazing and classic. You’ve definitely captured a beauty in each photo.Such amazing work

    Kay aka Babygirl

    November 22, 2011 at 1:20 pm

  15. These are all fascinating views, well captured, and my favourites are numbers 3, 5, 12 & 13.

    Andrew Graeme Gould

    November 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm

  16. I enjoy this set a lot. And I see why you were looking at film cameras =)

    Howie

    November 23, 2011 at 12:05 am

  17. Wow, all of these are stunning shots! You should frame these or make a book out of them 🙂

    Jasmine

    November 23, 2011 at 8:58 am

  18. great bw shots. Visiting Japan is definitely on my bucket list!

    Annie

    November 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  19. I just swooned all over the bicycle with its reflections on the sidewalk!

    Kim

    November 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

  20. stunning series of photos. rainy streets are very photogenic.

    Kathryn

    November 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

  21. Fabulous black and white and wonderful atmosphere and composition!

    alain alexandre

    November 25, 2011 at 6:25 pm

  22. wwwwwhaaatttt, you have VSCO??? dude! dude! can you do one of your awesome reviews on it? i am so interested in it but i’ve seen some sample portrait shots with it in which the skin tones are seriously orange… it is cause for concern! what do you think of it? leave no detail out!

    also, dang, japan is crazy photogenic. just crazy.

    Jacqueline

    November 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    • Ok, I’ll look into that. =)

      You’d probably be interested to know that there’s a section in the VSCO tool kit called “orange skin fix.” I still have yet to fully test these in color portraits, but right now I’d say that the black and whites I’m getting alone are worth buying the whole package for.

      Thanks for the comments everyone!

      Jonathan

      November 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      • wow, the b&w alone, huh? that is a bold statement! dang… i have a feeling i’ll be buying it soon.

        Jacqueline

        November 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  23. You take amazing photos. Kyoto is towards the top of my “places I want to visit” list, and the beauty of the city captured by your photographs greatly increases my desire to go.

    Harper Knox

    November 27, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  24. Stunning shots, Jon. Man, those presets are tempting!

    John

    November 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

  25. Love the mood in these. I would love to revisit my China pictures from a few years back to reprocess them. Sadly I didn’t shoot RAW back then. DUMB!!!

    Alice

    November 29, 2011 at 5:46 am

  26. The mood set is very nice in these pictures.

    HystericalBlue

    December 4, 2011 at 9:52 am

  27. Really amazing images Jonathan. Just started following your blog and am loving it so far.
    These images make me want to go back there, such a beautiful place to get lost with your camera.

    adamscullphotographyblog

    December 6, 2011 at 5:04 am

  28. […] to digital images, it is a huge time-saver. I cannot recommend it more to our shiba friends. I know one of them agrees with me. Tweet This […]

    Pack Walk » Shio the Shiba

    December 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm

  29. Hi! I’ve already commented on this post though have come back with a request: I am going to post one of my Inspirations posts (and example: http://wp.me/p1YdU5-ck) about Rain and hoped I could use one of your pics (I would credit and ping you back). I really like the 2nd last photo but also the 5th. Would I be able to use either one? Thank you!

    marinachetner

    December 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm

  30. These are some amazing photos from Kyoto! I went recently and it is such a magical place. I have a few photos on my blog too!

    winegums

    December 24, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  31. Love the mood on these b&w images!

    Jean J P

    January 9, 2012 at 2:40 am

  32. i just love the way you captured the city…good job!

    airplanespot

    April 25, 2012 at 11:24 pm


Leave a Reply

