Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Remembering Puppyhood

with 22 comments

I was cleaning out unwanted images from my archives last night when I stumbled upon some old images of Suki when she was a puppy. These are photos that I took long before I started blogging, so I think they deserve their own post today. The original jpegs were pretty flat and needed a little Lightroom 4 Beta love to wake them up, but here they are!

She was such a little rascal back then. In fact, our nickname for her was “Bad Doggy.” Not kidding! Of course, how could you ever be mad at that face?

The images above were taken with my first DSLR, a Nikon D70 with an 18-70mm lens. I borrowed it from my dad to start taking puppy pictures of Suki back in the day, and then hogged it for so long that he just let me have it. Actually, these first few pictures of Suki represent the starting point of my more passionate journey into digital photography, and she and I have both grown a little in our own respective ways since I took them:

I really wish I had more pictures of Suki as a puppy. It was such a short period of our lives, and was documented primarily using the crummy camera built into the original, first generation iPhone. What little we do have, however, we cherish =)

Written by Jonathan

February 21, 2012 at 1:48 pm

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amazing pics. lovely even as a puppy.

    taro the shiba (& pack)

    February 21, 2012 at 1:51 pm

  2. daww, loved this post! what a cutie!

    Annie

    February 21, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  3. AWWWWWW so stinking cute! I miss puppy Suki! <3 <3 <3 I just died over this post about my own dog. LOL

    Bridget

    February 21, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  4. what a perfect little puppy!! so adorable. thanks for sharing!

    nobuko

    February 21, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  5. Love it! Reading this post got me digging through Ichigo’s puppy pics again.

    Michael Wang

    February 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  6. Awww he is well cute! I would live a puppy x

    no1queenie

    February 21, 2012 at 2:33 pm

  7. They are great pics from a great pup. I just love stubby puppy feet.

    M.C.

    February 21, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  8. These are so cute! I wish I had more pictures of my dog as a puppy, too..

    Brandi

    February 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  9. Puppyhood never lasts long enough. I did the same thing when my pup was little. I tried to get as many shots of her as I could and put together a puppy book for her. Suki is a wonderful subject and she seems to enjoy your passion

    Kimberly

    February 21, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  10. OMG. squeeeeee!

    sorry for this useless comment. :P

    alice

    February 21, 2012 at 4:09 pm

  11. Love the retrospective. My first digital body was also the D70. Great memories captured despite the limitations…I think these are wonderful!

    Tricia Booker Photography

    February 21, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  12. she’s beautiful. What kind of dog is she?

    btdtxxdy

    February 22, 2012 at 2:16 am

  13. Aw, Suki Puppy! Gotta love those puppy photographs, as they grow up so quickly. Our pup will be turning 2 in July and she is pure joy! We all wish that they would stay that little, longer, but you gotta grow up sometime! Love your photographs of Suki – give Suki a hug from me! Woof Woof!

    Nikitaland

    February 22, 2012 at 6:30 am

  14. So cute she should be illegal!!! Great pics

    StrangeLittleGirl Photography

    February 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  15. How sweet. Suki is a natural in front of the lens since the puppy days. The one under a bench is so cute.

    Melissa

    February 22, 2012 at 7:25 pm

  16. awwwwwww! i love it. so adorable as a pup. (and so elegant as an adult!)

    Jacqueline

    February 22, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  17. What a great dog. And of course, great pictures.

    everythingglitters

    February 26, 2012 at 6:04 am

  18. Hah great puppy shots. I think you captured the essence of the playfulness of the canine companion.

    I recently started a blog as I was inspired by posts like this.

    http://minhstagram.wordpress.com
    :)

    Minhky

    June 16, 2012 at 6:17 am

  19. Hi Jonathan! These are such adorable pictures. I live in the Bay Area as well, and I was actually thinking of getting a Shiba myself, but I’ve never owned dogs before. Is Suki your first? What breeder did you get her from?

    Adrienne

    August 2, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    • Thanks! Suki is my first dog, yes. We got her from C&L Show Dogs in Campbell, California. Hope this helps!

      Jonathan

      August 3, 2012 at 11:29 am

  20. [...] old Shiba Inu, and we get to babysit him until Sunday. Ahhhhh, reminds me of the good old times when Suki was a puppy….a bad [...]

  21. Hi Suki & Jonathan! I love your photographs of her.

    Kim

    October 18, 2013 at 8:13 am


Leave a Reply

