Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

Forgotten Keepers

with 13 comments

Every now and then I go through and purge “junk” images from my archives, and as I’m deleting the throw-away images, I always discover forgotten keepers like these shots of Suki. The one up top has some weird flare in the frame, but I love Suki’s expression. Taken with my now retired Nikon D300s and Tokina 50-135. Two strobes to my right are combating the really bright background to provide light on Suki’s face.

Another shot with the D300s and 35mm f/1.8G, an excellent lens that I still use when I shoot DX.

This was taken during my 52 weeks of Suki project with the D300s and the stabilized Tamron 17-50. One light through a Lastolite tri-grip.

And this…is just hilarious.

Written by Jonathan

March 22, 2012 at 11:00 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Suki never takes a bad picture! Definitely keepers!

    Nikitaland

    March 22, 2012 at 11:05 am

  2. nikon all the way!
    awesome shots!
    great pup

    emaculent photography

    March 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

  3. Would you mind sharing how you use the light with the trigrip? Do you have a bracket? I’m really curious about your portable lighting setup. :)

    Jeff

    March 22, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    • Jeff,

      My light stand is extremely sophisticated: my wife! =)
      She would usually hold the trigrip in one hand and a speedlight in the other, both off camera axis, and I’d trigger the flash remotely. Another common setup we’d use is a lastolite 24″ ezybox for shots like these.

      Jonathan

      March 23, 2012 at 6:42 am

      • One more question: With the trigrip are you shooting the flash into it as a reflector, or shooting through it as a diffuser?

        Thank you and I love your work. My doggie has the same tags as Suki :)

        Jeff

        March 23, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      • Good question! I ran the light through it as a diffusor. Works like a charm to get some great light on your subject with small flash.

        Jonathan

        March 25, 2012 at 5:30 am

  4. More nice shooting ! So you are retiring your D300s? Why not sell it?

    Jim Dell

    March 22, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    • Thank you Jim! I guess by “retired” I meant that I did sell it, so it’s retired for me, but not for its new owner :)

      Jonathan

      March 23, 2012 at 6:38 am

  5. Suki looks so pretty in these! That last one had me LOLing!

    Bridget

    March 24, 2012 at 6:54 am

  6. aww, keepers for sure. love that last shot! so happy.

    Jacqueline

    March 29, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  7. Suki really is beautiful! Love the last picture :)
    We are thinking of getting a dog! :) If we dare…any tips? What do you do during conventions and so?

    /Pia

    Pia Olsson

    April 2, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    • Thanks Pia. Really depends on which breed you get as far as how to care for your pup, but when Bridget and I are away, Suki’s “grandparents” take care of her ;)

      Jonathan

      April 6, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      • That´s perfect:)
        We haven´t decided on breed yet, we have one favourite each so we just need to agree on one:) B. likes the minischnauzers and I like the havanese!

        Pia Olsson

        April 11, 2012 at 5:24 am


Leave a Reply

