Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

The Happy Dog

with 23 comments

Chasing Suki around at the beach with a telephoto lens during the last few minutes of sunset reminded me of what a happy dog she is. No matter how much negativity I encounter in the world, I can always count on her positive energy and her uplifting spirit.

Taken by the wife with her cell phone. Hah!

Dogs are absolute treasures. Never take them for granted.

___________________

Written by Jonathan

November 4, 2012 at 6:46 pm

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love these photos! The last one is really great!

    Michelle

    November 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  2. such sweet photos of your dog running! the quote at the end… so true.

    anna

    November 4, 2012 at 7:56 pm

  3. Great action shots of suki. You guys are so happy together

    Howie

    November 4, 2012 at 8:44 pm

  4. Gah! What an utterly heartwarming post, Jonathan. I long for the day that Chris and I can expand our family with a dog. The trick will be finding one that Felix & Franny approve of. 😉

    Kim

    November 4, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  5. Perfect post!

    meeshellay

    November 4, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  6. Is that a EOS M that your wife has?! You use so much camera gear, what do you do for a living! 😀

    solarsanction

    November 4, 2012 at 11:33 pm

  7. “No matter how much negativity I encounter in the world, I can always count on her positive energy and her uplifting spirit.”
    So much truth in this post and, in particular, in that sentence. I couldn’t agree more with you thoughts about dogs. They can always lift up your spirit!

    eleonoraf

    November 5, 2012 at 12:38 am

  8. beautiful dog, beautiful pictures.
    i love happy-dog photographs 🙂

    Fenne

    November 5, 2012 at 2:21 am

  9. Nice shooting of a happy dog…..I think your lens is big enough for the job too.

    Jim Dell

    November 5, 2012 at 3:49 am

  10. awesome! hey jonathan, it’s huy from work.

    400 Tread Wear No Care

    November 5, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  11. Aaawww, wonderful pictures! (as always) Love the light and one can really feel that she is a happy dog! 🙂

    /Pia

    Pia Olsson

    November 6, 2012 at 6:53 am

  12. We need to do this more often. Love my pup!! Best pictures ever, we need to print these!!!!

    Bridget

    November 6, 2012 at 8:35 am

  13. Jonathan, you’re awesome man, thanks for sharing these. The DOF on that 200mm F2 is superb! Again, great images, love your work!

    John Richards

    November 6, 2012 at 5:50 pm

  14. What a happy dog! Awesome pictures.

    theprojectboard

    November 7, 2012 at 5:11 pm

  15. Hi Jonathan, Since discovering your site (all because my kids have gotten me an X100 for my 75th birthday in January), I’ve sent you several comments, pretty much of a technical nature, all of which you have answered quickly, politely and interestingly. But today I would like to affirm your beautifully written and photographed piece on Suki and on dogs in general. Our kids moved out decades ago and live hundreds of miles from us, my wife has Parkinson’s disease and I have cancer… BUT, we HAVE A DOG!! And, frankly, Jonathan, she gives us a reason to live and to carry on. When I get my new X100 in January, I’ll send you her picture. Her name is Nellie, and she is a five-year-old, 100-pound Giant Schnauzer. We have always had dogs, when our kids were growing up, etc. They add so much to the wonder of life.

    Robert Wiemer

    November 8, 2012 at 6:18 am

  16. Sorry to take up more space than I should, with this second post, but I was wondering if you manually set your white balance to full daylight in order to retain the warm character of late afternoon or early morning light?

    Robert Wiemer

    November 8, 2012 at 8:43 am

    • Hi Robert,

      Appreciate the comment, and I’m happy to hear you have such a powerful and beneficial connection to your dog as well. As far as my white balance settings, I actually left the camera in auto white balance for this series. It seemed to pretty accurately reproduce the warm sunset colors we saw that day.

      Jonathan

      November 13, 2012 at 8:41 am

  17. the epitome of happiness. so very sweet! it looks like she’s smiling.

    also, that lens! what a workout it must be.

    Jacqueline

    November 12, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  18. Awww, Suki chan is sooo lovely.i wanna run about with her:D

    akanée

    November 17, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  19. i like the big smile on that dog

    under the skies of arkansas

    November 22, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  20. Your happy dog is so beautiful.. Happy holidays from Greece.

    tas.o.s.

    December 30, 2012 at 9:43 am

  21. Hey, I can’t seem to find your email. I had a quick question about your blog! Can you email me?

    -Shaye

    shayewalsh1@gmail.com

    shayewalsh

    September 11, 2013 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

