Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

P O L A R O I D

with 17 comments

2013-03-02 15.42.29-1

It’s been a while since I revived my now irreparably broken Polaroid Land Camera 450. But that camera lives on in a way, with its Zeiss Ikon finder now mounted to my recently acquired Land Camera 240. For my first pack of color film with the camera, I set up a light in my cousin’s back yard and took a few portraits of Bridget and Suki:

Tych1

Between the 1967 Land Camera 240 and my all-plastic Colorpack II, I’ve become quite addicted to shooting pack film lately. Here are some frames taken with the latter, which, though lacking in finesse when compared to the 240, is still a blast to shoot with:

tych5

One of the cool things about the Colorpack II is that it takes those Blue Dot Flash Cubes. Not a very refined light source, but still a ton of fun:

You know, in today’s very digital world, pulling a developed print out of one of these beautiful cameras feels downright miraculous. I think it’s about time I loaded my freezer up with pack film!

_______________________________________________________________

Polaroid Land Camera 240 | Polaroid Colorpack II | Fuji FP-100C | Fuji FP-3000B

Written by Jonathan

March 5, 2013 at 7:48 am

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to see the arty.

    Now this is the original Hipstamatic ! 🙂

    Pascal Sauve

    March 5, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    • True! You also get the added benefit of a physical print right after you make each click 🙂

      Jonathan

      March 7, 2013 at 7:27 am

  2. Pack film is such a pleasure to shoot. These are so beautiful! And now I need a Land Camera 240…

    Jade Illustrates

    March 5, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    • Hah! JADE! You have a Land Camera already!

      Though I could see how this post would instill some jealousy — these photos are gorgeous and you have such a good eye for shooting peel aparts! I’m so happy we got an extended peek at this adventure so soon!

      Kim

      March 5, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      • @Jade thanks! Seems to me you and Cory are doing some awesome stuff with the Land Camera you already have. Keep it up 🙂

        @Kim thank you! I gotta say, shooting pack film is dangerously addictive. This adventure will certainly continue!

        Jonathan

        March 7, 2013 at 7:26 am

  3. wow, this thing is huge, but i love the images that it produces! i would be as addicted to it as you are if i had one. another thing to put on the “wanted” list.

    Karleen

    March 9, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • Yup, it’s pretty big! Fortunately you can collapse it down though 🙂

      Jonathan

      March 12, 2013 at 6:23 am

  4. hi your images are clear! do you have any tips on how to make less blurry? i have trouble guessing the distance 🙂

    andrea

    March 11, 2013 at 11:33 am

    • Thank you! Keeping the camera steady is pretty important. I had the camera on a tripod when I took some of the color portraits at the top of this post. Getting your subject in focus can be a challenge with these cameras as well, even with the pretty decent rangefinders they have. They key is to really slow down and double check that rangefinder patch to make sure you have critical focus where you need it (though even then it can be hit or miss). When shooting color film with the Colorpack II, which lacks a rangefinder, I typically pull out my Leica rangefinder and get a distance reading that way.

      Jonathan

      March 12, 2013 at 6:42 am

  5. Love love love those portraits. The warmth and nostalgia of film cannot be beat.

    Jacqueline

    March 24, 2013 at 4:10 pm

  6. Great photos! I have a 100 and adore shooting on it as well!

    kylemarcellus

    April 8, 2013 at 1:52 pm

  7. Great photos! Such a fun post. Despite my really nice digital slr, I wish I had an polaroid.

    Maggie

    April 8, 2013 at 5:16 pm

  8. Oh!, just bought almost the same polaroid at the thrif shop! 🙂 Beautifull pictures you have on your blog! 🙂

    Len

    The Dutch Story

    April 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

  9. Appreciate the comments, everyone!

    Jonathan

    April 24, 2013 at 7:54 am

  10. brilliant pictures…cool work buddy!!!

    Naresh Ramadurai

    May 9, 2013 at 9:12 pm

  11. […] year, but Suki still spent plenty of time in front of my cameras in 2013. This was the year of pack film adventures with my Land Camera and black and white photos with my old rangefinder, at least for my personal […]

  12. […] my dad’s old Land Camera on my second visit to the shop. I blame him for getting me hooked on shooting pack film. I discovered quirky cameras like the Lomokino at Photobooth, and connected with some really cool […]


Leave a Reply

