Jonathan Fleming's Blog

A Photography Blog

A Coastal Road Trip

with 16 comments

Road trips are the best. We just got back from our latest long drive, and this time we even brought Suki along. So. Much. Fun.

Though I brought the pack film shooter and the M3 along for the trip, I did a bulk of my vacation photography in digital this time around. Here, in reverse chronological order, is a series of photos I took during the course of my trip with the Fuji X100s. All color photos are out of camera JPEGs using the camera’s “standard” picture control setting. Black and whites are also processed by the camera using the its red filter mode.

The wife took the image above of me trying to do a Photosphere with my camera phone.

The beaches along the Oregon coast are breath taking. Early morning light falling on massive rock formations on the sand made for some interesting black and white photos. I felt like I was on a different planet at times:

We made sure Suki had her fair share of hikes and meet ups:

Well, those are my digital highlights. A couple rolls of 35mm are at the lab from the trip, so we’ll see how those turn out =)

All Images: Fuji X100s

Written by Jonathan

September 9, 2013 at 10:19 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have never been much of a road tripper, but you three are seriously making me want to change that. Can’t wait to see all the rest of your beautiful photographs from the trip…

    Jade Sheldon-Burnsed

    September 9, 2013 at 10:29 pm

  2. Omg. Haha, I just got an email notifying me of this post and at first I thought it was a response to my Coastal Road trip! I drove up north pretty recently too! Glad you had a good time. 🙂

    solarsanction

    September 9, 2013 at 10:42 pm

  3. This trip must’ve really inspired you because this is some of your best work that I’ve ever seen! Love these pics so much, they capture very happy memories. 🙂

    Bridget

    September 9, 2013 at 10:57 pm

  4. Looks like you had a fantastic road trip Jon and Bridget! Hope that you guys enjoyed the trip up the coast!

    Kelven Ng

    September 9, 2013 at 11:18 pm

  5. Great photos

    Bajolasombra

    September 10, 2013 at 12:24 am

  6. Beautiful photographs! The dogs are cute.

    Koon & Amy

    September 10, 2013 at 1:36 am

  7. the photo of the capitol is unbelievable.

    tumbleweedineden

    September 10, 2013 at 7:38 am

  8. Fantastic meeting you guys in Portland! Those coast pictures are breathtaking – makes me want to head down 101 on our own road trip.

    Jason

    September 10, 2013 at 10:08 am

  9. meravigliose foto…cani stupendi…

    barbycry

    September 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm

  10. […] and Ektar, should I say. Two of my favorite types of color negative came along with me on my recent road trip. Here are the highlights, starting with the roll of Portra […]

  11. Beautiful images, Jonathan.

    So crisp, your shots are. Liked your images 🙂

    Have a great time.

    Sreejith Nair

    January 12, 2014 at 9:16 am

  12. I really love the collection you have here. I was wondering if you shot this with the default lens x100s came with or a 35mm f1.4? appreciate your response

    Uyama

    April 5, 2014 at 1:49 am

    • Thanks! The X100s has a built-in 23mm f/2 lens, so it’s all I could use for these shots =)

      Jonathan

      April 7, 2014 at 8:24 am

      • wow it is a wonderful camera! Thanks for your response. I haven’t shot digital in years and was thinking of getting a light weight companion and couldn’t decide on which one to get.

        Your photos are impressive I must say 🙂

        Uyama

        April 7, 2014 at 10:15 am

  13. Great Photos !, I really enjoy your blog ;). Im suspicious though … how do you tweak shadows and highs etc. in Std and Br ?

    Phil

    October 9, 2014 at 10:36 am

    • Hi there! There’s a Highlight Tone and a Shadow Tone adjustment in the X100s’ shooting menu. That’s one way to do it.

      Jonathan

      October 9, 2014 at 10:42 am


Leave a Reply

