The Shiba-Blogger Meetup in New York

Right after we walked the High Line in Manhattan last week, we headed to Brooklyn Heights to meet Shio and family. A handsome Shiba Inu for sure, though more shy than Suki:

Shio: “I’m not shy! I’m just too cool for you!”

Of course, Shio. My bad.

Shio wasn’t the only Shiba at the meetup. Here are Betsy and Kit, the famous Shibas featured on Gina’s Shibal Inu blog. Gina even hooked me up with one of her awesome tote bags. (pictured below)

I actually lived in Brooklyn Heights for a few years. The walk was pretty nostalgic for me. I got to see a lot of new city improvements to the neighborhood. The new parks along the pier are beautiful, as was our late afternoon stroll through town under the shadows of the Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges.

Shio’s dad Josh (left), and my cousin, also named JoshĀ (right). All three of us paw-parazzied our way through the Heights. The batteries in my X100 were running low from shooting the High Line Ā all morning, so I spent some time with my cousin’s Nikon D7000, which I used to take many of these images. Insanely good camera.

It was a hot day in New York. It wasn’t long before our double-coated furry friends started tiring. At times, Shio would just halt mid-walk and lay down. Had to carry him for a little:

…..and/or pamper him during his protests. Speaking of protests:

Shio: “No, humans! We MUST enter this here bakery!”

Shio: “Do you not want some freshly baked noms? Or A/C? What’s the matter with you people?!”

Don’t you just love Shiba smiles?

That’s one cool family right there. Make sure you check out Josh’s post about our meetup at the Shio Blog: Shio vs. Jonathan Fleming.

_______________

Images:

Fuji X100
Nikon D7000 + Nikkor DX 35mm f/1.8G

20 thoughts on “The Shiba-Blogger Meetup in New York

  1. Sweet post man! I haven’t been *in* your blog in a while! This little walk really made me see how fun (and extremely challenging) it is to photograph the Shibas! Great pics and presentation!

  2. Thanks for sharing the photos! You’ve given Shio so much character through your photos. You can almost see what his stubborn little mind is thinking!

    It was such a pleasure to meet you, Bridget and (your) Josh!

    I love the photos of (my) Josh, myself and Shio. We rarely ever have photos of the three of us together!

    We’ll have to do this again next time when we go out to the West coast. I can’t wait to meet sweet Suki.

    1. Small camera with good video? Lots of options. The new Canon S100, Olympus XZ-1, upcoming Fuji X10, or some of the M4/3 system cameras are less expensive and probably do better video. Check on the Sony NEX line as well.

  3. haha! i do like shiba smiles šŸ™‚ they are all so photogenic. Cracked me up about Shio just halting mid-way and lying down! wish I can do that too and get carried for the rest of the way šŸ™‚

Leave a comment